Detail Members Agendas Minutes Bills

Senate Education

Printer Friendly

Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Education
Room:    423
Date:    Thursday, January 31, 2013
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

Confirm the re-appointment of Patrick L. Weber, Clay County, Vermillion, South Dakota to the State Board of Regents.

        SB 159     revise the state aid to general education formula by including an adjustment for students with limited English proficiency.
            Senators White, Bradford, Buhl, Heineman (Phyllis), Hunhoff (Jean), Johnston, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lucas, Maher, Monroe, Novstrup (Al), Peters, Rampelberg, Soholt, Tidemann, Tieszen, and Welke and Representatives Mickelson, Bolin, Cronin, Dryden, Duvall, Erickson, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Haggar (Don), Hajek, Hansen, Hawks, Hawley, Heinert, Hickey, Johns, Magstadt, Miller, Novstrup (David), Parsley, Qualm, Ring, Rounds, Rozum, Schoenfish, Sly, Stalzer, Stevens, Tulson, Werner, Westra, Wink, and Wismer

        SB 80     reinstate certain provisions repealed in the Eighty-seventh Legislative Session regarding the accounting for federal impact aid.
            Senators Maher, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Frerichs, Lucas, and Sutton and Representatives Sly, Bartling, Feickert, Hawley, Heinert, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Killer, Kopp, May, Nelson, Olson (Betty), Parsley, Russell, Schaefer, Schrempp, Stevens, Tyler, Verchio, and Wismer

        HB 1064     provide for certain methods of disbursement for school district flexible spending accounts.
            Representatives Verchio, Craig, Feickert, Hawks, Hickey, Magstadt, Qualm, Rasmussen, Ring, Russell, Schoenfish, and Stalzer and Senators Rampelberg, Bradford, Jensen, Maher, Tieszen, and Welke

        HB 1012*     revise certain provisions regarding the students eligible for resident tuition benefits at universities controlled by the Board of Regents.
            The Committee on State Affairs at the request of the Board of Regents


        J. MARK JOHNSTON, Chair