Codified Laws

Text Search

Enter the text to search for and click Search to get a list of statutes containing the text you entered. Tips:
  • Multiple words will be searched as a phrase. Entering Property Tax will return statutes that contain the complete phrase Property Tax.
  • Logical Operators are allowed. Hunting and Fishing will return statutes that containing both hunting and fishing. Hunting or Fishing will return statutes that contain hunting, fishing, or both.
  • Wild cards(*) are allowed. Entering Approp* will return statutes that contain Appropriation, Appropriate, Appropriated, etc..
  • Punctuation can also be used as operators. + = and, , = or. Searching for phrases that have , and will result in error unless you enclose the entire phrase in quotes.
The Filter option allows you to narrow your search results to a specific Title or Chapter. Here is a tip for using the filter option.
  • Use a dash (-) as the last character of your filter to refine searches. For example the filter "1-1" returns sections in 1-1, 1-10, 1-11, 1-12, etc. The filter "1-1-" returns only sections in Chapter 1-1.

Quick Find

Type the Statute number you are looking for in the form Title-Chapter-Section . Examples(1-1-1.1, 27A-11A-12, etc.)

The Get Statute button can be used to locate a specific statute. You may type in a title, chapter, or section number. Example: typing 1 will return the chapter list for Title 1, typing 1-1 will return the section list for chapter 1-1, typing 1-1-1 will return section 1-1-1 of the statutes.

The Get Chapter button can be used to load a complete chapter of the statutes. This function requires a title and a chapter number. Examples: 1-1, 57A-1, 1-3

     41-23-8.   List of nonmeandered lakes open for recreational use. The waters of the following nonmeandered lakes are declared open for recreational use pursuant to § 41-23-7:
             (1)      Casey's Slough, Cottonwood GPA, Dry #1, Dry #2, Round, and Swan in Clark County;
             (2)      Deep and Goose in Codington County;
             (3)      East Krause, Lynn, and Middle Lynn, in Day County;
             (4)      North Scatterwood in Edmunds County;
             (5)      Three Buck in Hamlin County;
             (6)      Bullhead, Cattail-Kettle, and Opitz in Marshall County;
             (7)      Island South in McCook County;
             (8)      Keisz in McPherson County;
             (9)      Grass, Loss, Scott, and Twin in Minnehaha County;
             (10)      Twin in Sanborn County;
             (11)      Cottonwood and Mud in Spink County;
             (12)      Cottonwood in Sully County; and
             (13)      Dog Ear in Tripp County, South Dakota.

Source: SL 2017 (SS), ch 1, § 8, eff. June 12, 2017.

Get Chapter 41-23
Back to Chapter 41-23

Click message to listen