	20:38:32:04.  Land surveying. An applicant for licensure as a land surveyor shall pass the Fundamentals of Land Surveying (FS) examination, the Principles and Practice of Land Surveying (PS) examination and an open book, take-home examination of South Dakota land surveying practice and laws.

	Current students and graduates of the educational programs described in § 20:38:30:03 that have either successfully completed, or are currently enrolled in, a minimum total of 18 semester credit hours of surveying courses within, or in addition to, their program of study may apply for the FS examination. An applicant who passes the examination shall be enrolled as a land surveyor-in-training (LSIT) or land surveying intern (LSI). Passage of the examination does not authorize any person to practice as a land surveyor or to imply that such a professional title is held.

	Applicants who have completed all of the requirements and who apply for the FS examination prior to December 31, 2015, may request that their application be reviewed on the basis of the education and experience requirements which existed on January 1, 2011.

	An applicant who has passed the FS examination and has satisfied the land surveying education and experience requirements may apply for admission to the PS examination.

	The South Dakota portion of the examination is an open book, take-home examination. There is a four-hour version for applicants who have passed 12 hours of the NCEES examinations; a two-hour version for applicants who have passed 14 hours of the NCEES examinations; and a one-hour version for applicants who have passed 15 hours of the NCEES examinations. Each applicant shall complete and return the applicable version of the take-home examination to the board's office within 30 calendar days after the date of mailing of the examination to the applicant.

	An applicant who fails the FS or PS examination may retake the examination two times. If the applicant fails the examination three times, the applicant may submit only one new application for admission to the examination per calendar year thereafter. The board may review an applicant who has failed the examination three times and may require additional qualifying education or experience.

	Source: 26 SDR 9, effective July 29, 1999; 34 SDR 107, effective October 31, 2007; transferred from § 20:38:17:08, 38 SDR 121, effective January 16, 2012; 40 SDR 121, effective January 7, 2014.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-18A-22(3), 36-18A-28.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-18A-1(16), 36-18A-28.

