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CHAPTER 20:68:01

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS


Section
20:68:01:01		Definitions.
20:68:01:02		Application for licensed professional counselor.
20:68:01:02.01	Repealed.
20:68:01:03		Repealed.
20:68:01:04		Licensure by reciprocity.
20:68:01:05		Licensure denial.

	Declaratory Ruling: As used in SDCL 36-32-13(3), the word "resides" includes an applicant for licensure who maintains a business presence in the State of South Dakota, in the form of an office that is used or will be used by the applicant for the purpose of or to facilitate in person meetings with clients. South Dakota Board of Counselor Examiners Declaratory Ruling dated April 15, 2004.


	20:68:01:01.  Definitions. Terms used in this chapter mean:

	(1)  "Board," the Board of Examiners for Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists as defined in SDCL 36-32-1;

	(2)  "Supervisor," a person who is qualified under §§ 20:68:04:02 and 20:68:04:07, and is responsible for the direct training and evaluation of those applying for a counselor license;

	(3)  "Supervision," the process of directing and evaluating the activities of a person applying for a counselor license;

	(4)  "Counseling," as defined in SDCL 36-32-1(5);

	(5)  "CACREP," Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-2, 36-32-13.

	Reference: The CACREP office is located at 1001 N. Fairfax Street, Suite 510, Alexandria, VA 22314, and www.cacrep.org, or by calling 702-535-5990.

	20:68:01:02.  Application for licensed professional counselor. An applicant for licensure as a licensed professional counselor shall apply on a form provided by the board. The application form shall contain the following information:

	(1)  Name, mailing address, telephone number, date of birth, and social security number;

	(2)  A copy of a government issued photo ID;

	(3)  Official educational transcripts showing graduation from a CACREP program or a 48-hour master's degree in counseling or a related program which includes course work as described in subdivision 20:68:03:02(2);

	(4)  A statement of any criminal record, any previous application with the board, or any previous discipline including denial, revocation, or suspension of a previously held license;

	(5)  Documentation of 2,000 hours of supervised full-time experience in counseling as defined in SDCL 36-32-1(5), all of which was obtained subsequent to the granting of the master's degree in counseling, and which includes 800 hours of direct client contact, and which meets the supervision criteria as outlined in chapter 20:68:04;

	(6)  The application fee required by § 20:68:02:03; and

	(7)  Official verification of a passing score on the National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification described in § 20:68:05:01.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 32 SDR 32, effective August 29, 2005; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13.

	20:68:01:02.01.  Application for licensed professional counselor -- Certain requirements waived. Repealed.

	Source: 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.

	20:68:01:03.  Application for counselor associate. Repealed.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; repealed, 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.

	20:68:01:04.  Licensure by reciprocity. The applicant for licensure by reciprocity must hold an active professional counselor license and be in good standing with the state's board that issued the current license. Applications may be secured from the board. Completed applications shall be accompanied by the fee required by § 20:68:02:03.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13, 36-32-16.

	Declaratory Ruling: South Dakota Board of Counselor Examiners rules and declares that an applicant for licensure by reciprocity pursuant to SDCL 36-32-16 and ARSD 20:68:01:04, is eligible for license by reciprocity when the applicant is licensed under the laws of a state or territory of the United States, and the applicant substantially meets the requirements of SDCL 36-32, even though the state under which the applicant is licensed may have allowed the applicant to obtain licensure based on requirements that are less than substantially the same requirements imposed by SDCL 36-32. Dated: September 25, 2006.

	20:68:01:05.  Licensure denial. The board shall inform the applicant in writing of its reasons for denial of licensure.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13, 36-32-14.

CHAPTER 20:68:02

FEES


Section
20:68:02:01		Remittance of fees.
20:68:02:02		Renewal fees.
20:68:02:03		Fee schedule.
20:68:02:04		No reimbursement before expiration of license.
20:68:02:05		Eligibility deadline after notification.


	20:68:02:01.  Remittance of fees. Application fees shall be remitted to the board in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, certified check, or money order made payable to the state of South Dakota. The board shall take no action on any application for licensure until the fee is received.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13, 36-32-14, 36-32-20, 36-32-26.

	20:68:02:02.  Renewal fees. License renewal fees must be submitted annually by December 31.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-20, 36-32-26.

	20:68:02:03.  Fee schedule. The fees applicable under this chapter are nonrefundable. The fee schedule is as follows:

	(1)  Licensed professional counselor application fee, $100;
	(2)  Initial license fee for licensed professional counselor, $100;
	(3)  Annual license renewal fee for licensed professional counselor, $100;
	(4)  Duplicate license, $20;
	(5)  Reciprocity application fee, $100;
	(6)  Late renewal fee, $50, in addition to the annual license renewal fee for licensed professional counselor;
	(7)  Continuing education program application fee, $25;
	(8)  License verification, $15;
	(9)  Duplicate renewal card, $10.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 26 SDR 150, effective May 21, 2000; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004; 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13, 36-32-16, 36-32-19, 36-32-20, 36-32-23.

	20:68:02:04.  No reimbursement before expiration of license. A licensed professional counselor who applies for a licensed professional counselor-mental health license prior to the expiration of the license presently held may not be reimbursed for any fees paid.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-26.

	20:68:02:05.  Eligibility deadline after notification. The board must be in receipt of the license fee within 30 days after notification of eligibility to become licensed.

	Source: 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13, 36-32-14.

CHAPTER 20:68:03

ACADEMIC AND EQUIVALENCY REQUIREMENTS


Section
20:68:03:01						Academic requirements.
20:68:03:02						Approved counseling program.
20:68:03:03 and 20:68:03:04	Repealed.


	20:68:03:01.  Academic requirements. Academic requirements for licensed professional counselors must be completed at a university or college accredited by one of the following:

	(1)  The Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools;
	(2)  The New England State Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools;
	(3)  The North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools;
	(4)  The Northwest Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools;
	(5)  The Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools; or
	(6)  The Western College Association.

	The applicant's postgraduate degree in counseling must be a master's degree, educational specialist certificate or degree, or doctorate.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13.

	20:68:03:02.  Approved counseling program. Approved counseling programs are as follows:

	(1)  A counseling program approved by the CACREP; or

	(2)  An organized sequence of study in the area of counseling that includes graduate course work in each of the following areas:

		(a)	Counseling theory: including a study of basic theories, principles of counseling, and philosophical bases of the helping relationship;

		(b)	Counseling techniques: including individual counseling practices, methods, facilitative skills, and the application of these skills;

		(c)	Practicum: including a supervised training experience consisting of the provision of counseling to clients or groups seeking services from counselors;

			(i)    A acticum consists of no less than 100 hours, of which 40 hours are direct service;
			(ii)   Prior to the beginning of the practicum, the student must have completed a course in counseling theory and a course in counseling techniques;
			(iii)  The practicum must be under the direction of a graduate faculty member;
			(iv)  The supervisor's evaluation of the trainee's work shall take place through face-to-face contact;

		(d)	Internship: including an on-the-job experience in professional counseling under the tutelage of an on-site supervisor who is a licensed professional counselor or licensed mental health therapist. The supervised internship may be no less than 600 hours of which 240 hours must be in direct services;

		(e)	Human growth and development: including studies that provide a broad understanding of the nature and needs of an individual at all developmental levels. Emphasis is placed on psychological, sociological, and physiological approaches, human behavior (normal and abnormal), personality theory, and learning theory;

		(f)	Social and cultural foundations: including studies of change, ethnic groups, subcultures, changing roles of women, sexism, racism, ethnocentrism, urban and rural societies, population patterns, cultural mores, use of leisure time, and differing life patterns;

		(g)	Group: including the study of group dynamics, group processes, practices and methods of group counseling, supervised practice, facilitative skills, and theory and types of groups;

		(h)	Life-style and career development: including vocational-choice theory, relationship of career choice to life-style, sources of occupational and educational information, approaches to career decision-making processes, and career development exploration techniques;

		(i)	Appraisal of the individual: including the development of a framework for understanding the individual, methods of data-gathering and interpretation, case study approaches, individual and group psychological and educational testing, and the study of individual differences with consideration of ethnic, cultural, and gender factors;

		(j)	Research and evaluation: including statistics, research design, the development of research and demonstration proposals, and the development and evaluation of program objectives;

		(k)	Professional, legal, and ethical considerations: including the study of professional counseling organizations, codes of ethics, legal considerations, standards of preparation, certification and licensure, and the professional role identity of counselors.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13.

	20:68:03:03.  Supervised counseling practicum. Repealed.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; repealed, 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.

	20:68:03:04.  Degree requirement exemptions. Repealed.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; repealed, 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.

CHAPTER 20:68:04

SUPERVISION


Section
20:68:04:01		Plan of supervision.
20:68:04:01.01	Exception to plan of supervision.
20:68:04:01.02	Private practice not permitted.
20:68:04:02		Supervisor qualifications.
20:68:04:03		Supervision requirements.
20:68:04:04		Multiple supervisors.
20:68:04:05		Supervision methods.
20:68:04:06		Supervisor duties.
20:68:04:07		Supervisor application.


	20:68:04:01.  Plan of supervision. The supervisee and supervisor shall submit a completed plan of supervision on a form provided by the board along with official verification of a passing score on the National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification. The plan must be approved by the board prior to beginning the supervision experience.

	If the supervisee changes supervisors, the supervisee shall submit a new plan of supervision within 30 days.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 32 SDR 32, effective August 29, 2005; 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	20:68:04:01.01.  Exception to plan of supervision. The board may approve the supervised hours obtained subsequent to a master's degree while residing outside South Dakota provided that training meets the supervision requirements pursuant to this chapter.

	Source: 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	20:68:04:01.02.  Private practice not permitted. For supervisees beginning a plan of supervision after January 1, 2016, the supervisee may not practice counseling in private practice during the first two years of an approved plan of supervision.

	Soure: 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	20:68:04:02.  Supervisor qualifications. A board approved supervisor shall be:

	(1)  An Approved Clinical Supervisor (ACS) credentialed by the Center for Credentialing & Education, Inc. and recognized by the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC) and Affiliates;

	(2)  A licensed professional counselor, licensed professional counselor-mental health, licensed marriage and family therapist, certified social worker-private independent practice, licensed psychologist, or licensed psychiatrist, who has been actively licensed for at least two years prior to the beginning of supervision;

	(3)  A licensed professional counselor, licensed professional counselor-mental health, licensed marriage and family therapist, certified social worker-private independent practice, licensed psychologist, or licensed psychiatrist, who has been actively licensed for at least one year and has evidence of completing 15 hours of supervision training pursuant to § 20:68:07:09 before beginning supervision; or

	(4)  An American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy approved clinical supervisor.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 32 SDR 32, effective August 29, 2005; 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	20:68:04:03.  Supervision requirements. Supervision is an intensive, interpersonal, focused relationship in which an approved supervisor is designated to facilitate the development of the therapeutic competence of supervisees and shall consist of:

	(1)  At least 2,000 hours of post-graduate counseling experience as defined in SDCL 36-32-1(5) completed within five years of the first plan of supervision approval date, of which at least 800 hours is direct client contact and the remainder is counseling-related activities such as case notes, research, consulting, or counseling continuing education. Counseling-related activities do not include administrative tasks; and

	(2)  A minimum of one hour of supervision per week for each week worked for a total of at least 100 hours, of which at least 50 hours shall be face-to-face. The balance may be face-to-face, group, or by telephone conferencing or interactive video conferencing. However, any telephone or video conferencing must be secure such that reasonable precautions have been taken to ensure that the conference will not be intercepted or listened to by unauthorized persons.

	Compliance shall be recorded on a supervision tracking form provided by the board.

	For the purpose of this chapter, if a supervisor supervises one or two supervisees per session it is individual supervision, and if a supervisor supervises three or more supervisees, it is group supervision. No more than 50 percent of the required hours may be group supervision hours. 

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 32 SDR 32, effective August 29, 2005; 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	20:68:04:04.  Multiple supervisors. If a supervisee has more than one approved supervisor during the same time period, the supervisee shall meet with at least one of the supervisors for a minimum of one hour each week worked.

	Source: 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	20:68:04:05.  Supervisor methods. A supervisor shall use, at a minimum, two of the four following supervision methods:

	(1)  The presentation and staffing of cases;
	(2)  The critiquing of audio or video counseling tapes;
	(3)  The direct observations of the supervisee; or
	(4)  Co-counseling with the supervisee.

	At a minimum, at least two of the four supervision methods must be used during the first six months of the supervision period.

	The supervisor shall document evidence of complying with the requirements on a form provided by the board upon completion of the supervision experience.

	Source: 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	20:68:04:06.  Supervisor duties. The supervisor shall ensure that:

	(1)  Client welfare is protected;
	(2)  A supervisee functions within the limits of the supervisee's competence;
	(3)  The training occurs in activities relevant to the supervisee's position and academic background;
	(4)  The training is designed to expand and improve skills in areas for which the supervisee has academic background but inadequate training; and
	(5)  That the training covers theoretical approaches in the following areas:

		(a)  Counseling psychotherapy techniques;
		(b)  Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;
		(c)  Treatment planning and implementation;
		(d)  Case management and record keeping;
		(e)  Professional identity and function; and
		(f) Professional ethics and standards of practice.

	The supervisor and supervisee shall comply with the ACA Code of Ethics.

	Source: 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

	References: ACA Code of Ethics, 2014 edition, American Counseling Association. Copies may be obtained by writing to ACA, 5999 Stevenson Ave., Alexandria, VA 22304, calling 800-347-6647, or online at www.counseling.org.

	20:68:04:07.  Supervisor application. To be considered for board approved supervisor status, a licensee must submit:

	(1)  A completed application provided by the board;
	(2)  Verification of completing at least four hours of training in supervision pursuant to § 20:68:07 in the previous five years immediately preceding the submission of the application;
	(3)  Verification of liability insurance; and
	(4)  A full disclosure of all ethical complaint settlements.

	Source: 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13(6), 36-32-26.

CHAPTER 20:68:05

EXAMINATIONS


Section
20:68:05:01		Examinations.


	20:68:05:01.  Examinations. The National Counselor Examination (NCE) is the national examination for licensed professional counselors approved by the board. The applicant shall apply and pay fees directly to the National Board for Certified Counselors. A state examination testing competency in ethics, continuing education requirements, and state laws related to counseling may be required in addition to the national examination. The board shall notify eligible applicants of the time and place of the state examination.

	Source: 18 SDR 67, effective October 16, 1991; 22 SDR 97, effective January 24, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-13(7), 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-13, 36-32-18.

CHAPTER 20:68:06

LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR -- MENTAL HEALTH
(Repealed. 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.)


CHAPTER 20:68:07

CONTINUING EDUCATION


Section
20:68:07:01						Definitions.
20:68:07:02						Continuing education compliance period.
20:68:07:03						Continuing education requirements.
20:68:07:04						Proof of compliance required.
20:68:07:05						Notice of noncompliance.
20:68:07:06						Sources of continuing education credit.
20:68:07:07						Restrictions on continuing education credit.
20:68:07:08						Standards for approval.
20:68:07:09						Approval of sponsors.
20:68:07:09.01					State board approval of programs.
20:68:07:10						Prior approval of activities.
20:68:07:11						Post approval of activities.
20:68:07:12						Review of programs -- Reevaluation of sponsors.
20:68:07:13						Credit for presentations and publications.
20:68:07:14						Application for waiver of continuing education requirements.
20:68:07:15 and 20:68:07:16	Repealed.
20:68:07:17						Reinstatement of inactive license.
20:68:07:18						Suspension or revocation of license.


	20:68:07:01.  Definitions. Terms in this chapter mean:

	(1)  "Continuing education," an academic course, workshop, clinic, forum, lecture, program, seminar, or other educational activity developed for the purpose of increasing or sustaining the proficiency of the licensee in the practice of counseling;

	(2)  "Licensee," a person licensed to practice as a licensed professional counselor, a licensed professional counselor-mental health, or a licensed marriage and family therapist in this state;

	(3)  "Approved program," a continuing education program which meets the standards in § 20:68:07:08 and which has received the approval of the board;

	(4)  "Approved sponsor," a person or organization sponsoring continuing education activities which has been approved by the board as a sponsor pursuant to § 20:68:07:09;

	(5)  "In-house program," a program planned and presented by the licensee for the purpose of educating the staff;

	(6)  "Contact hour," 60 minutes of continuing education program.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:02.  Continuing education compliance period. The continuing education compliance period begins January 1 of each even-numbered year and ends December 31 of each odd-numbered year. The first compliance period for a new licensee begins after the second renewal date.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:03.  Continuing education requirements. During the continuing education compliance period, each licensee must complete at least 40 contact hours of approved continuing education without duplicating the same course. Four of those contact hours shall be on the subject of counseling ethics. This shall be documented by a published program, title, or description. Approved supervisors shall complete four hours of counselor supervision education within the 40 contact hours.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:04.  Proof of compliance required. Compliance with the requirements for continuing education is a prerequisite for license renewal. Each licensee must submit copies of evidence satisfying the requirements of § 20:68:07:03 during the compliance period.

	On the form which the board provides to show compliance with § 20:68:07:03, the licensee applying for renewal shall list the continuing education activities which the licensee participated in or attended, the amount of credit received for each program, and the date, location, and name of the approved provider which sponsored the program. Each licensee is responsible for retaining the original certificate or other record of credit from continuing education programs received from approved providers for at least five years for audit purposes as prescribed in § 20:68:07:18.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:05.  Notice of noncompliance. If the licensee does not submit the evidence required by § 20:68:07:04 at the time the application for renewal of the license is submitted, the board shall notify the licensee in writing. Unless an extension of time to meet the requirements of § 20:68:07:03 is granted or a waiver of the requirements is approved, the license shall be revoked as provided in § 20:68:07:18.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	Cross-Reference: Waiver of continuing education requirements -- Inactive status, § 20:68:07:15.

	20:68:07:06.  Sources of continuing education credit. The licensee may obtain hours of continuing education credit by attending and participating in continuing education courses, workshops, clinics, forums, lectures, programs, seminars, distance learning programs, or other educational activities either previously approved by the board pursuant to § 20:68:07:09 or otherwise meeting the requirements in this chapter and approved by the board pursuant to § 20:68:07:08. A continuing education unit equals 10 contact hours and a semester of academic credit equals 15 contact hours.

	Continuing education activities must be geared toward professionals and must focus on increasing knowledge or skills, or both, in the practice of counseling.

	The licensee is responsible for financing the costs of continuing education.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:07.  Restrictions on continuing education credit. A licensee may not receive more than eight contact hours during a continuing education compliance period for in-house programs.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:08.  Standards for approval. A continuing education course, workshop, clinic, forum, lecture, program, seminar, distance learning program, or other educational activity is qualified for approval by the board pursuant to this section, § 20:68:07:09, or § 20:68:07:10 if it meets the following requirements:

	(1)  It constitutes an organized program of learning which contributes directly to the professional competence of the licensee in serving the public;

	(2)  It relates to the practice of counseling;

	(3)  It is conducted by individuals considered experts in the subject matter of the program because of education, training, or experience; and

	(4)  It is accompanied by a paper, manual, or written outline which substantially pertains to the subject matter of the program.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:09.  Approval of sponsors. The board will accept continuing education credits for programs accredited, approved, or presented by the following national organizations:

	(1)  National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC);
	(2)  American Psychological Association (APA);
	(3)  American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT);
	(4)  National Association of Social Workers (NASW);
	(5)  Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC);
	(6)  American Medical Association Physician's Recognition Award Category 1 Credit (AMA PRA Category 1 Credit); and
	(7)  Joint Commission for Accreditation of Health Care Organizations (JCAHCO).

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004; 34 SDR 73, effective September 17, 2007.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:09.01.  State board approval of programs. The board may accept continuing education credits for programs preapproved by a licensing board for counselors of another state.

	Source: 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:10.  Prior approval of activities. An organization or presenter other than an approved sponsor which desires prior approval of a continuing education program of any nature shall apply to the board at least 30 days before the program is to be presented. The organization or presenter shall apply for approval on a form provided by the board. The application shall state the dates, subjects offered, total hours of instruction, names and qualifications of speakers, and other pertinent information. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision within 30 days after receipt of the application.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:11.  Post approval of activities. An organization, presenter, or attendee seeking post approval of a program shall submit to the board, within 30 days after completion of the program its dates, subjects, instructors and their qualifications, the number of contact hours requested, and the fee required in § 20:68:02:03. Within 30 days after receipt of the application, the board shall advise the organization, presenter, or attendee in writing whether the program is approved and the number of contact hours allowed.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:12.  Review of programs -- Reevaluation of sponsors. The board may monitor or review any continuing education program that has been approved by the board. If the board finds evidence of significant variation in the program presented compared to the program approved, the board may revoke the approval of the sponsor or approval of the continuing education program. The sponsor or program whose approval is revoked must apply for reapproval under § 20:68:07:08 or 20:68:07:09.

	The board may at any time reevaluate an approved sponsor. After reevaluation, if the board finds there is a basis for consideration of revocation of the approval of a sponsor, the board shall give notice in writing to that sponsor of a hearing on the revocation of approval at least 30 days before the hearing.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43.

	20:68:07:13. Credit for presentations and publications. A licensee who has prepared an academic counseling course, a counseling in-service training workshop, or a counseling seminar or who has written as first author a counseling article accepted for publication in a recognized professional journal is allowed a maximum of ten contact hours in each compliance period for each original presentation or publication. The licensee making a presentation in a course, workshop, or seminar must secure prior approval from the board by providing the board with a written summary of the intent to present on a form provided by the board 30 days prior to the presentation and one letter of reference from a licensed counselor that verifies the intent. Verification of completion of the presentation or the letter of acceptance to publish, must be submitted to the board by the licensee.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:14.  Application for waiver of continuing education requirements. A licensee may request a waiver of the continuing education requirements by applying in writing to the board. The application shall contain the reasons for the request and supporting documentation. The board may waive any part or all of the continuing education requirements in § 20:68:07:03 for a two-year compliance period for the following reasons:

	(1)  The licensee served active duty in the armed forces of the United States during any part of the period since the license was issued or last renewed; or

	(2)  The licensee has an incapacitating illness or disability documented by a licensed physician.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:15.  Waiver of continuing education requirements -- Inactive status. Repealed.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; repealed, 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.

	20:68:07:16.  Termination of inactive status. Repealed.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; repealed, 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.

	20:68:07:17.  Reinstatement of inactive license. An inactive practitioner seeking to reinstate a license which has not been renewed within two years must present evidence of having completed at least 20 contact hours of approved continuing education within the year preceding the application for reinstatement and pay the renewal fee for the current year, along with the late fee pursuant to § 20:68:02:03. This section does not apply to a revoked or suspended license.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998; 30 SDR 121, effective February 17, 2004.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

	20:68:07:18.  Suspension or revocation of license. The board may suspend or revoke a license after the investigation or review, or both, of suspected noncompliance with this chapter. Upon request for renewal of the South Dakota license, the licensee is responsible for reasonable expenses incurred by the board or the board's representative relating to the investigation or review of the suspected noncompliance complaint, plus regular renewal fees.

	The board may not renew a license for any person who has failed to comply with the requirements of this chapter. The board shall conduct audits to verify compliance of continuing education requirements.

	Source: 23 SDR 8, effective July 25, 1996; 25 SDR 85, effective December 22, 1998.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-26, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-23, 36-32-43, 36-33-14.

CHAPTER 20:68:08

ETHICAL STANDARDS


Section
20:68:08:01.		Ethical standards.


	20:68:08:01.  Ethical standards. A licensed professional counselor shall comply with the ethical standards as set forth in the American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, as approved by ACA Governing Council.

	Source: 28 SDR 51, effective October 14, 2001; 42 SDR 97, effective January 4, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 36-32-26.
	Law Implemented: SDCL 36-32-29(10).

	Reference: ACA Code of Ethics, 2014 edition. Copies may be obtained by writing to ACA, 6101 Stevenson Ave. Suite 600, Alexandria, VA 22304, calling 800-347-6674, or online at www.counseling.org.

