[bookmark: _GoBack]	41:03:04:05.01.  Campsite reservations -- Payment of camping fees -- Cancellation fees. Nonprofit youth groups with adult supervision may reserve a designated group camping area for up to 14 consecutive nights.

	A person may reserve an available campsite at any state park, recreation area, or lakeside use area for up to 14 consecutive nights. Once the person has occupied the campsite the 14th night, the person shall remove his or her camper unit from the state park, recreational area, or lake side use area, by check-out time the next day, for at least one night, before reserving that site, or another site, at that location.

	Camping fees set in subdivisions 41:03:04:03(1) to (3), inclusive, (7) to (13), inclusive, and (15) must be paid for the entire duration of a camper's anticipated stay at the time the reservation is made. A person who cancels a reservation for a campsite through the reservation center or who cancels a reservation for a campsite after arrival at the park shall pay one night's camping fee for each campsite reserved. A person who cancels a reservation for a camping cabin or rent-a-camper through the reservation center or after arrival at the park shall pay a $25 cancellation fee. A person who cancels or shortens a reservation for a lodge more than 30 days ahead of the scheduled arrival date shall be charged a $25 cancellation fee. A person who cancels or shortens a reservation for a lodge 30 days or fewer ahead of the scheduled arrival date shall be charged a $25 cancellation fee for every night cancelled. The department shall refund all other fees for unused days of camping or unused lodge fees except nonrefundable reservation fees.

	A person who is a resident of South Dakota shall pay an additional reservation fee of $2 for a reservation made through the telephone call center. A person who is not a resident of South Dakota shall pay an additional reservation fee of $7.70 for a reservation made online and shall pay $9.70 for a reservation made through the telephone call center. The reservation fee is nonrefundable and is payable in advance.

	At French Creek Horse Camp in Custer State Park, a person who cancels a reservation through the reservation center shall pay one night's camping fee for each campsite reserved if the cancellation is received 30 days or more before arrival. Fifty percent of fees shall be refunded if the cancellation is received fewer than 30 days but more than 15 days before arrival, and no refunds if the cancellation is received 15 or fewer days before arrival.

	Source: 6 SDR 96, effective April 1, 1980; 10 SDR 76, 10 SDR 102, effective July 1, 1984; 10 SDR 120, effective July 1, 1984; 12 SDR 186, effective May 28, 1986; 13 SDR 192, effective June 22, 1987; 14 SDR 114, effective March 9, 1988; 15 SDR 139, effective March 20, 1989; 16 SDR 135, effective February 18, 1990; 17 SDR 78, effective December 10, 1990; 19 SDR 82, effective December 7, 1992; 21 SDR 102, effective December 8, 1994; 21 SDR 148, effective March 6, 1995; 22 SDR 82, effective December 10, 1995; 23 SDR 87, effective December 3, 1996; 25 SDR 108, effective February 28, 1999; 28 SDR 150, effective May 7, 2002; 32 SDR 109, effective December 27, 2005; 35 SDR 184, effective February 2, 2009; 42 SDR 97, effective January 5, 2016; 43 SDR 31, effective September 14, 2016.
	General Authority: SDCL 41-17-1.1(1)(7).
	Law Implemented: SDCL 41-2-24, 41-17-1.1(1)(7).

