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• Study Scope:  Study alcoholic beverage shipping 
and distribution regulation in South Dakota.  
The study should include: 

– The three-tier system of alcohol distribution in the 
state to determine if the current system is 
necessary and appropriate in today’s society. . .  

 



 Following the repeal of Prohibition in 1933, the 
States created systems to regulate the 

production and sale of alcohol. 



 When the nation repealed Prohibition via the 
Twenty-first Amendment in 1933, it vested 

primary control over alcoholic beverages in the 
states. The common understanding of the 

framers of the Twenty-first Amendment was that 
it grants each state the power to regulate 

alcoholic beverages within its borders without 
intrusion by federal law or regulation. 

 



 South Dakota implemented a three-tier system 
that prohibits close ties between manufacturers 
and retailers by requiring retailers to buy their 

product from distributors, not directly from the 
manufacturers. 



 Typically the use of a wholesaler/distributor is 
looked at as an easy way for regulators to 

monitor the flow of alcohol products and to 
collect excise tax revenues. 



State Tax  
Per Gallon 

Federal Tax  
Per Gallon 

Beer $0.27 $0.58 

Low Wine (14%) $0.93 $1.07 

High Wine (14%-21%) $1.45 $1.57 

Sparkling Wine $2.07 $3.40 

Distilled Spirits $3.93 $13.50 

*Source: Carol Logan, Special Taxes, SD Dept. of Revenue 



From How tax is collected 

Manufacturer Excises Taxes 

Wholesaler/Distributor 
2% of value of all wine and spirits 
received 

Retailer South Dakota Sales Tax 



 Help to minimize both the magnitude and 
inequality of the advantages created for any one 

group. . .  

 



 The Equal Protection Clause is part of the 
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States 
Constitution. The clause, which took effect in 
1868, provides that no State shall deny to any 

person within its jurisdiction “the equal 
protection of the laws”.

 



Annual Fee Statute 

Farm Winery $100.00 35-12-2 Farm Winery License – 
Renewal Fee 
Licenses may be issued and 
renewed for an annual fee of one 
hundred dollars… 

Artisan Distillers $500.00 35-13-2 Licensing of Artisan 
Distillers – Fee 
The fee for the license shall be five 
hundred dollars per year. 



Statute 

Farm Winery 35-12-5 Sales Authorized by License (Farm Wineries) 
A license issued pursuant to § 35-12-2 authorizes the sale on 
the farm winery premises of table wine, sparkling wines, or 
sacramental wines, or any wine as defined in subdivision 35-12-
1(3), produced by the farm winery at on-sale or off-sale, in 
retail, or wholesale lots in total quantities not in excess of one 
hundred fifty thousand gallons. . . 

Artisan Distillers 35-13-9 On-Sale and Off-Sale Authorized Under License 
(Artisan Distillers) 
A license issued pursuant to § 35-13-2 authorizes the sale on 
the distillery premises of distilled spirits produced by the artisan 
distillery at on-sale or off-sale, in total quantities not in excess of 
fifty thousand gallons in a calendar year. . .  



States Allowed: 

 Alaska, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Ohio, 
Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia, 
Wyoming 

 

States Allowed With Restrictions: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

State Self Distribution 

Arkansas Brewers producing up to 60,000 bbls annually. 

Arizona Up to 3,000 bbl under 20,000 bbl production cap; unlimited to same-
ownership outlets. 

California No restrictions on production size or on-premise [brewpubs]. 

Colorado Up to 300,000 gallons per calendar year. 

Illinois A craft brewer licensee, set at less than 465,000 gal. of beer annually, 
may self-distribute up to 232,500 gal. per yr. 



State Self Distribution 

Indiana Only brewers producing up to 30,000 bbls annually. 

Minnesota Only brewers producing up to 25,000 bbls annually. 

Montana A brewer producing up to 60,000 bbls of beer annually.  

New  
Hempshire 

Brewers producing less than 15,000 bbls can sell up to 5,000 bbls. For brewpubs it is 2,500 
bbls. 

New Jersey Brewers producing up to 300,000 bbls annually.  

New York Distributors permit allows for self-distribution up to a capacity of 60,000 bbl annually. For 
brew pub the distribution limit is 3,000 bbl per year. 

North Carolina A brewery producing less than 25,000 bbls. 

Oregon Brewery licensees can self-distribute with no volume restriction. Brew pubs can self-distribute 
if their production is less than 1,000 bbls. 

Texas Brewers producing less than 75,000 bbls of beer per year. 

Utah Less than 60,000 bbls. 

Virginia A brewery can form a separate  distribution company as a distinct legal entity. 

Washington  Less than 60,000 bbls. 



States Allowed: 

 Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Illinois, 
Maryland, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, New 
Jersey, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oregon, South 
Dakota, Vermont, Washington, Wyoming 

 

 



States Allowed: 

   Washington 

   New York (One Other Location) 

   District of Columbia 

 

 



• Wine = Yes 

• Beer = Brewer may assume wholesaler for 2 
years; can be limited partner for up to 10 years 

• Artisan Distiller = No 

 



Wine Distribution 

  Producer                    Retailer 

 

Distilled Spirits Distribution 

 

  Producer             Retailer 

            Distributor   



National Share of Beverage Alcohol = Number of Drinks Ordered 

 

    Beer:  49% 

    Spirits:  37% 

    Wine:   15% 

 

*Source: Nielsen Report/The Beverage Information Group 



• Self-Distribution should not trigger Federal 
Commerce Clause requirements, that self-
distribution be extended to out-of-state 
producers because changes would favor market 
actors physically present in South Dakota 

• Market Participant Exception 

– Reeves, Inc. v. Stake (US 1980) 

– State may discriminate against non-residents (Power 
to regulate under 21st Amendment) 

 



 

 

 

• Beer Self-Distribution; 
Budweiser 

• Collection of Revenue; 
Increased Strain on Dept. of 
Revenue 

• Drive Retailers Out of Business 
• “Catch 22” with Wholesalers 
• Commerce Clause 
• Cost/Benefit 
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• Parity with Farm Wineries 

• Close the Sale 

• Economies of Scale 

• SD Product/Agribusiness 

– SD Resources 

• Win-Win 

• Benefit to Small Business 



FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to provide for the distribution and sell of artisan  

distilled spirits produced under license in accordance with 35-13 to licensed wholesalers 
and retailers. 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:   

Section 1.  That Chapter 35-13, be amended by adding thereto a NEW SECTION to read as 
follows: 

     A license issued pursuant to § 35-13-1 and § 35-13-2, authorizes the sale of distilled  

spirits as defined in subdivision 35-13-1(1), produced by the artisan distiller at on-sale  

or off-sale, in retail, or wholesale lots in total quantities not in excess of fifty thousand  

gallons in a calendar year, including glassware, artisan spirit literature and accessories,  

food products, South Dakota made products, and the dispensing of free samples of  

distilled spirits offered for sale.  Any artisan distiller in the state of South Dakota may sell 
to wholesalers and retailers no more than one thousand gallons, per product-line, not to  

exceed a total of fifty thousand gallons.       

 



FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to extend on-sale and off-sale 
authorizations under license. 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH 
DAKOTA:   

Section 1.  That § 35-13-9 be amended to read as follows: 

     35-13-9.  A license issued pursuant to § 35-13-2 authorizes the 
sale on the distillery premises and from one other location in the 
State of South Dakota of distilled spirits produced by the artisan 
distillery at on-sale or off-sale, in total quantities not in excess of 
fifty thousand gallons in a calendar year and the dispensing of free 
samples of distilled spirits offered for sale.  Except as provided in 
this chapter, such sales shall comply with the provisions of Title 35.     

 


