
South Dakota Highway Patrol 
Motor Carrier Services 

https://dps.sd.gov/default.aspx


STATE PERMIT COMPARISON 

$15.00 $25.00 $20.00 $20-$40 $25.00 $10.00 

$25.00 $15.00 $20.00 $25.00 $15.00 $10.00 

$25** Too much vari $35.00-$85.00** $40** $20** $10 + PR 

$60.00 Not available $100.00 $50.00 $100.00 $25-$300 

$25.00 Not available $20/trip $100/mo not avail $250*** not avail 

$291.64 $3,379.52 $96.65 $779.92 $25 * $10 + PR 

$25.00 $25.00 $15.00 $15.00 $20.00 $20.00 

 *At certain size-Req NSP escort ($6500) ** Plus additional tonnage fees below ***Legal combo in SD/No permit  

Overweight permit tonnage fees 
South Dakota   $ .02 cents per ton per mile in excess of limits set forth in Administrative Rule 70:03:01:02 

Minnesota  Varies by axle group and weight. $.04 to $.30 per pound per mile. 

North Dakota   $ .05 cents per ton per mile on anything over 200,000 lbs. 

Wyoming   $ .06 cents  per ton per mile in excess of statutory weights 

Nebraska   No ton mile fee 

Iowa   $.05 cents per ton per mile- Housemovers only- Others must by Pro-rated for full weight 



Overweight Cost Penalties 
  32-22-55. Schedule of penalties for operation of overweight vehicle. Any person who is 
convicted of the   offense of operating a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this state 
with weight upon any wheel, axle, or groups of axles or upon more than one thereof greater than 
the maximum permitted by §§ 32-22-2 to 32-22-33, inclusive, 32-22-47 and 32-22-48 shall be fined 
in addition to, and not in substitution for, any other penalties now provided by law for such 
offense in the following amounts: 

 1. In an amount equal to five cents per pound for each pound of such excess or combined     
excess weight over one thousand pounds if such excess is three thousand pounds or less. 

 2. In an amount equal to fifteen cents per pound for each pound of such excess or combined 
excess weight if such excess exceeds three thousand pounds and is four thousand pounds or less. 

 3. In an amount equal to twenty-two and one-half cents per pound for each pound of such excess 
or combined excess weight if such excess exceeds four thousand pounds and is five thousand 
pounds or less. 
 4. In an amount equal to thirty-seven and one-half cents per pound for each pound of 
such excess or combined excess weight if such excess exceeds five thousand pounds and 
is ten thousand pounds or less. 
 5. In an amount equal to seventy-five cents per pound for each pound of such excess or 
combined excess weight if such excess is more than ten thousand pounds. 
 The fine schedule in this section is assessed at a single rate according to the cents per pound   
penalty for the highest weight violation. 



Over Weight Fine 
    Steer Axle                           Drive Axles                                                         Trailer Axles 

Axle   1                           Axles   2       3                                                     Axles     4        5  
           
Legal 13,200 lbs.                        Legal 34,000 lbs.                                                            Legal 34,000 lbs. 
Actual 11,900 lbs.                     Actual 33,700 lbs.                                                          Actual 39,900 lbs. 
 
    Not OWT                                   Not OWT                                                                   OWT by 5,900 lbs. 
 
The vehicle is overweight on Axles 4-5 by 5,900 lbs. 
 
Calculating the fine & cost penalty: The fine is always $170.00. The cost penalty is based on the 
amount overweight. In this case 5,900 lbs.  Accordingly, by statute, the cost penalty would be: an 
amount equal to thirty-seven and one-half cents per pound for each pound of such excess or 
combined excess weight if such excess exceeds five thousand pounds and is ten thousand 
pounds or less (*Number 4 on previous slide). The amount overweight (5,900 lbs.) would be 
multiplied by 37.5 cents. 
                                                   Basic fine + cost penalty = Total Amount 
 
                            $170.00 + (5,900 lbs. x .375 = $2,212.50) = $2,382.50 Total Fine and Costs. 



Nebraska $150.00  

Wyoming $155.00  

ND $405.00  

Minnesota $585.00  

Iowa $849.75  

South Dakota $2,382.50  

Over Weight Fine Comparison  
5,900 lbs. Over Weight on a Tandem Axle 



Motor Carrier Inspector                 
Turnover Rates 
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 34 Motor Carrier Inspectors left since October 1, 2009.  15 of those resigned. 



Inspector Pay comparison 
  

All are starting pay with no benefit costs for a civilian 
inspector, unless otherwise noted 
 
1) North Dakota:  $23.59 per hour (only two in the state) 

 
2) Nebraska:  $21.54 per hour (sworn trooper-no civilian inspectors) 

 
3) Minnesota:  $18.53 per hour 

 
4) Wyoming:  $15.10 per hour 

 
5) Iowa:  $14.40 per hour for a permit clerk (no inspections, just permit 

sales) Inspectors start $19.62 per hour (sworn officer) 
 

6) South Dakota: $14.40 per hour (permit sales, inspections, size and 
weight enforcement, public education) 

 



MAP 21 
Exemptions 
Moving Ahead for Progress        

in the 21st Century   
Agriculture has not recently been granted any exemptions or 
relief for size and weight. There were significant exemptions 
for agriculture from the federal safety rules by the MAP-21 
highway bill. MAP – 21 was signed into law in July of 2012. It 
wasn’t fully adopted until the 2014 legislative session. 
Therefore, they went into full affect July 1, 2014.  



MAP 21 Exemptions 
This change exempted a farmer, driving a covered farm vehicle from: 

 

 
(The requirement that 

companies test their employees, has nothing to do with law enforcement testing a 
driver) 
 

 

 

Agriculture was not exempted from part 393, Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe 
Operation. This is where requirements for brakes, lights, tires and etc. are found. We 
largely have state statutes that also cover this.  These exemptions can be utilized by a 
covered farm vehicle(CFV), and have geographic limitations.  The CFV, if under 26,001 
GVWR, may utilize the exemptions anywhere within the US.  If over 26,001 GVWR, 
the may utilize the exemptions within the state they are registered, and 150 mile radius 
of the farm or ranch, regardless of state boundary.  
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