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TABLE 2.1
Use-Value Assessment Acreage Minimums, Selected States
Agricultural Land Timber Land
3 acres Louisiana, Maryland Louisiana
5 acres Idaho, Maine, Massachusetts, Idaho, Maryland
North Carolina, Rhode Island
7 acres New York
10 acres Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, Delaware, Kentucky,
New Hampshire, Ohio, Massachusetts, New Hampshire,
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania, West Virginia
15 acres Tennessee Montana, Tennessce
20 acres Nevada, South Dakota, Minnesota, North Carolina
Washington
25 acres Vermont

160 acres Montana

SOURCE: State statutes cited in appendix 2.3.
NOTE: Smaller acreages are eligible for enrollm
evidence that the property generates at leasta
come from its current use.

ent in some of these states if the owner provides
minimum amount of sales revenue or gross in-

newly enrolled properties actually meet state criteria for enrollment. Veri-

fication is up to the local property tax 255€SSOr.

Of greater importance than the length of the application form are the
eligibility criteria that qualify some rural properties but not others for en-
rollment in UVA programs. A common eligibility requirement isthata

parcel meets or exceeds a certain minimum acreage to qualify for the state’s

program. What is striking about these acreage minimums is how small

As table 2.1 shows, parcels as small as three or five

they are in most states.
acres qualify for UVA in some states. It is unlikely that parcels so small
livestock, or timber. Mon-

can be commercially viable sources of crops,
tana appears to be exceptional in requiring a sizable acreage to enroll

farm or ranch for preferential tax assessment.
Another common eligibility requirement for agriculturdl UVA is that

the owner needs to document or at least attest that the property has gener-
ated at least 2 minimum amount of gross income or sales revenues from
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TABLE 2.2

d Assessment

i

Earm Income or Sales Requirement for UVA Enroliment,

Selected States

Alaska

Delaware
Kauai County,
Hawaii

Maine

Maryland
Massachusetts

Montana

New Jersey
New York
North Calfolina

Ohio

Oregon

Pennsylvania
Rhod; Island
South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Owner or lessee derives at least 10 percent of annual gross
income from farming.

. Gross sales of agricultural or forestry products of

at least $1,000 per year during the two preceding years.
Filing of IRS Schedule F from previous year documenting
profit or loss from farming.

Gross farm income of at least $2,000 per year during one of
two preceding years.

Average gross farm income of at least $2,500 if under 20 acres.
At least $500 of annual sales receipts from farming activity.
Over half of owner’s Montana gross income derives from
agriculture and minimum of $1,500.

Gross annual sales of $1,000 for first five acres plus average of
$5 per acre for each acre over the first five.

Annual gross farm sales of $10,000 or more during preceding
two years.

Average gross farm income of at least $1,000 during preceding
three years.

Average gross income of at least $2,500.

Gross income of at least $3,000 if 30 or more acres. Smaller
income amounts if smaller parcels of farmland.

At least $2,000 of gross farm income during the previous
three years.

At least $2,500 of gross farm income during one of last two
years.

At least one-third of total family gross income from farming.
Gross income from farm sales, farm rent, or federal farm
support payments averaging $1,500 per year over three-year
period.

Agriculture as primary occupation of owner and primary
source of income.

SOURCE: Statutes cited in appendix 2.3.
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