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SB 104 - An Act to repeal and revise certain provisions relating to requirements for a permit to
carry a concealed pistol.

Summary of Legislation: SB 104 eliminates the permitting requirement for carrying a concealed
handgun in South Dakota and makes other technical and conforming changes. Current law
requires a permit for South Dakota citizens to carry a concealed handgun.  Applications are made
at the local sheriffs' office.  

Regular Concealed Carry Permit:  The cost for a regular permit is $10 initially, and $10 to
renew.  The sheriff's office retains $3 for the administration of the permit program and remits $7
to the Secretary of State's Office for deposit in the State General Fund.   The regular permit is
recognized for concealed carry in South Dakota and 31 states.

Enhanced Concealed Carry Permit:  The Enhanced Concealed Carry permit, available starting
in FY2016, allows certain qualifying South Dakota citizens to carry a concealed handgun in 37
other states and allows them to purchase a firearm without a waiting period.  The cost for an
Enhanced Concealed Carry permit is $100 initially, and $50 to renew.  Fifty percent of the fee is
retained by the local sheriff's office, and fifty percent is deposited in the Secretary of State's other
fund.  The applicant must also pay $43.25 to the South Dakota Department of Criminal
Investigation (DCI) for a fingerprint background check.  Additionally, each applicant must
successfully complete a qualifying handgun course.

Gold Card Concealed Carry Permit:    The Gold Card Concealed Carry permit, available
starting in FY2017, allows certain qualifying South Dakota citizens to carry a concealed handgun
in 32 other states and allows them to purchase a firearm without a waiting period.  The cost for a
Gold Card carry permit is $70 initially, and $70 to renew.  The fee is deposited as follows: $30
with the local sheriff; $6 with the Secretary of State's other fund; and $34 is deposited in the
Department of Public Safety's other fund.  The applicant must also pay $43.25 to the South
Dakota Department of Criminal Investigation (DCI) for a fingerprint background check.  No
handgun course is required to obtain a Gold Card Concealed Carry permit.



The Secretary of State provided the number of concealed carry permit applications and fee
revenue for the past three fiscal years and the estimated numbers for the next two fiscal years.

*No renewals have been issued for the Enhanced or Gold Card permits.



Estimated Impact on public funds:  It is estimated this bill would have little to no effect on the
purchase of either the Enhanced Concealed Carry Permit or the Gold Card Concealed Carry
Permit, as the benefits of these programs (enhanced provisions regarding reciprocity and firearm
purchase convenience) would remain if SB104 is passed.

It is further estimated that the number of Regular Concealed Carry permits will decline only
slightly. The State of Wyoming passed a similar law in 2011 and saw an almost 50% decrease in
new permits that were approved in 2012. However, in 2013 the numbers of permits issued rose
50% as people realized that they provide reciprocity. Since 2013, the number of permits issued
has continued to increase yearly. The Wyoming regular concealed carry permit costs $64 for a 5
year permit. The South Dakota permit, by comparison, costs only $10 and provides reciprocity
benefits in 31 states. Based on the cost difference between the two states, it is estimated that
South Dakota could expect an 8% reduction in permits issued in the first year, with no significant
impacts after that. Therefore, the estimated impact is a decrease in general fund revenue of
$12,096 and a decrease in revenue of $5,184 to local sheriffs, for the first year only. 

Estimated Effect on the Criminal Justice System: This bill would eliminate a Class 1
misdemeanor for those guilty of carrying a concealed weapon with no license. In the past ten
years, there have been an average of 14.3 convictions per year, with an average sentence of 39.4
days in county jails. The estimated savings from this bill to the counties would be approximately
$50,555 per year (563.42 days x $89.73/day).
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