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FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY AND UNINSURED MOTORISTS 
 

 
All fifty states have adopted some form of 
financial responsibility laws to try to 
address the problem of uninsured 
motorists; despite these laws, there are 
still uninsured motorists who continue to 
be involved in accidents leaving some 
victims uncompensated. This has 
resulted in a number of attempts in recent 
years to try to improve South Dakota’s 
motor vehicle financial responsibility law, 
including legislation introduced in the 
2000 Legislative Session. While the 
legislation did not pass, the concerns 
surrounding this legislation resulted in the 
formation of a working group made up of 
legislators, state agency representatives, 
county treasurers, and representatives of 
the insurance industry. This group 
attempted to take a look at how serious 
the problem is in the state and at the 
steps the state should take to solve the 
problem. This issue memorandum will 
review what that work group considered 
and its suggested solutions. 
 
 
Overview of South Dakota's Law 
 
Since January 1, 1987, all drivers and 
owners of motor vehicles in South Dakota 
have been required to be financially 
responsible before driving any motor 
vehicle that is required to be licensed. A 
person can maintain financial 
responsibility by one of four methods.  

(1) Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance – 
Liability insurance pays the other 
driver’s medical, vehicle repair, and 
other costs when a person is at fault in 
a motor vehicle accident. This is the 
primary method of maintaining 
financial responsibility in the state. 
The law requires an owner’s policy of 
liability insurance with at least the 
minimum coverage of $25,000 for 
bodily injury to or death of one person 
in an accident, $50,000 for bodily 
injury to or death of two or more 
persons in an accident, and $25,000 
because of injury or destruction of 
property in an accident. These 
minimum requirements (25/50/25) 
have not changed since 1985 and are 
comparable to minimum requirements 
set in other states. There have been 
failed attempts in South Dakota in 
recent years to increase these 
minimum requirements. California 
recently decreased their minimum 
requirements from 15/30/5 to 10/20/3 
as a part of a pilot project to lower 
premiums and to encourage the 
purchase of insurance. 

 
(2) Bond – The law allows a person to file 

a bond with the Department of 
Commerce and Regulation. The bond 
must be from a surety company 
authorized to transact business in the 
state and be conditioned for payment 
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of at least the same minimum 
amounts as liability insurance. This 
method of maintaining financial 
responsibility is not currently being 
used. 

 
(3) Certificate of Deposit – The law allows 

a person to deposit with the State 
Treasurer a certificate of deposit or 
securities in the amount of fifty 
thousand dollars. The treasurer, upon 
receiving such a deposit, issues to the 
person a certificate as proof of 
financial responsibility. One person is 
currently using this method. 

 
(4) Certificate of Self-insurance – Finally, 

the law allows a person to have a 
certificate of self-insurance issued by 
the Department of Commerce and 
Regulation. The certificate must be 
supplemented by an agreement by the 
self-insured that the self-insured will 
pay, with respect to any accidents, the 
same amounts that an insurer would 
have been obligated to pay under a 
motor vehicle liability policy.  Large 
companies with a number of vehicles 
operating in the state have used this 
method to maintain financial 
responsibility. Currently, four 
companies are self-insuring. 

 
Every driver of a licensed motor vehicle 
must provide evidence of financial 
responsibility upon being involved in a 
reportable traffic accident or being 
detained for a suspected driving violation. 
The driver is required to provide written 
evidence upon the request of a law 
enforcement officer. If a driver cannot 
produce such written evidence, the law 
enforcement officer may issue the driver 
a citation for failure to maintain financial 
responsibility. 
 
If a driver does not have written proof of 
financial responsibility and is cited for a 

violation, the law permits the driver to 
submit, personally or by mail, written 
evidence to the court that the driver was 
in compliance with the law at the time of 
the citation. If the court finds the written 
evidence to be acceptable, the law 
requires that further proceedings on the 
charge be dismissed. 
 
A person guilty of failure to maintain 
financial responsibility is subject to the 
penalties of a Class 2 misdemeanor and 
a suspension of his or her driver’s license 
for a period of not less than thirty days. 
 
Other States' Methods 
 
All states have laws that set the minimum 
amounts of insurance or other financial 
security drivers must maintain to pay for 
the effects of their negligence if an 
accident occurs. Most states also have 
laws requiring drivers to have auto liability 
insurance before they can legally drive a 
motor vehicle. 
 
A few states, including North Dakota, 
have experimented with state-operated 
funds to provide a source of funds for 
accident victims when the at-fault party 
has no means of paying a judgment. 
However, these unsatisfied judgment 
funds have only resulted in limited 
effectiveness.  
 
Nineteen states, including South Dakota, 
require uninsured motorist coverage, and 
a handful of states, including South 
Dakota, require underinsured motorist 
coverage as part of a liability policy. 
These policies in South Dakota, however, 
only cover bodily injuries and do not 
cover property damages caused by an 
uninsured or an underinsured motorist. 
 
Some states require a person to produce 
evidence of insurance upon registering a 
vehicle and a few states require a person 
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to certify that the vehicle is covered by 
liability insurance at the time of vehicle 
registration. Thirty-one states, including 
South Dakota, require an insured to 
provide evidence of insurance at the time 
of an accident or when a vehicle is 
stopped for a traffic violation. Thirty 
states, including South Dakota, require 
evidence of insurance to be physically 
present at all times in the vehicle. 
 
States also have required that insurance 
companies assist in the enforcement of 
these mandatory laws. At least fifteen 
states require insurance companies to 
notify the state if a person cancels or 
does not renew an insurance policy. 
Upon such notification, the state warns 
the person that coverage must be 
maintained. In a handful of states, 
insurance companies are asked to verify 
the existence of insurance at the time a 
specific accident occurred. In ten states 
insurers are given lists of randomly 
selected auto registrations or lists of 
motorists involved in accidents and asked 
to verify the existence of insurance. Nine 
states require an insurer to submit its 
entire list of automobile liability policies to 
the state so the state can use the lists to 
verify registration applicants' declarations 
that insurance is in effect. These various 
requirements can become costly for the 
states and for insurance companies to 
administer. Utah has contracted with a 
third-party vendor to electronically 
process insurance and motor vehicle 
registration records to identify uninsured 
motor vehicles. This process costs 
around one million dollars per year and 
thus far has not significantly impacted the 
uninsured motorist percentage in that 
state. 
 
Penalties for not complying with 
compulsory liability laws include fines, jail 
time, license or registration revocation, 
confiscation of license plates, and vehicle 

impounding. Some states revoke or 
suspend drivers’ licenses and others 
revoke or suspend vehicle registrations. A 
few states confiscate license plates if a 
person cannot provide proof of insurance. 
 
The wide variety of motor vehicle financial 
responsibility laws suggests that there is 
no ideal solution to the problem of 
uninsured motorists. Some laws are more 
costly to administer than others, and each 
type of law has its strengths and pitfalls. 
The working group found that there does 
not appear to be a pattern of the more 
costly methods impacting the uninsured 
rate any more than less costly methods. 
No matter the type of law, each state still 
has its share of uninsured motorists. 
 
The American Association of Motor 
Vehicle Administrators is currently 
conducting a study on what states have 
done to decrease uninsured motorists 
and the successes of these programs. 
However, that study is at least a year 
away from completion. 
 
Extent of the Problem in South Dakota 
 
The work group found that, based upon 
known studies, the uninsured motorist 
population of the state is between 6% and 
6.8%. These studies are based on 
accidents involving a bodily injury. 
Although it has been conjectured that the 
percentage of uninsured is higher than 
that, the work group found no other 
source of information showing a statistic 
that differed from this range. All known 
studies consistently show South Dakota 
to be among the lowest in percentage of 
uninsured motorists. At 6% the state 
ranks 49th nationally. If the 6.8% rate is 
accurate, the state ranks 47th nationally. 
The same study shows the national 
average of uninsured motorists to be 
12.9%. The results of that study are 
shown in the following table. 



 
Page  4  September 14, 2000 

ESTIMATED 
UNINSURED MOTORIST POPULATIONS 

1996 
 
 

Alabama 27.5%  Montana 10.1% 
Alaska 16.1%  Nebraska 7.8% 
Arizona 15.2%  Nevada 14.2% 
Arkansas 8.9%  New Hampshire 10.0% 
California 21.4%  New Jersey 14.7% 
     
Colorado 34.0%  New Mexico 30.2% 
Connecticut 8.9%  New York 6.4% 
Delaware 9.7%  North Carolina 6.6% 
Dist. of 
Columbia 

23.6%  North Dakota 8.2% 

Florida 20.9%  Ohio 13.6% 
     
Georgia 13.2%  Oklahoma 18.1% 
Hawaii 8.3%  Oregon 13.0% 
Idaho 8.6%  Pennsylvania 8.4% 
Illinois 13.7%  Rhode Island 15.0% 
Indiana 12.7%  South Carolina n/a 
     
Iowa 10.4%  South Dakota 6.8% 
Kansas 8.0%  Tennessee 18.5% 
Kentucky 10.8%  Texas n/a 
Louisiana 8.8%  Utah 9.5% 
Maine 4.0%  Vermont 9.6% 
     
Maryland 11.3%  Virginia 12.3% 
Massachusetts n/a  Washington 15.4% 
Michigan 11.7%  West Virginia 8.5% 
Minnesota 13.7%  Wisconsin 11.3% 
Mississippi 25.1%  Wyoming 8.6% 
     
Missouri 13.9%  TOTAL 12.9% 

 
 
 
 Notes: 1) The above figures are computed using the ratio of Uninsured Motorist 
   (Bodily injury) claim frequency to Bodily Injury Liability claim frequency. 
 
  2) Massachusetts, South Carolina, and Texas data are not available because 
   NAII is not a personal auto statistical agent in these states. 
 
 Source: National Association of Independent Insurers 
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Since 1987 there has been an average of 
just over 14,000 citations a year for failure 
to maintain financial responsibility. Most 
of these are dismissed when written 
evidence of insurance is supplied to the 
court. Around 4,000 persons a year plead 
guilty or are convicted at trial for failure to 
maintain financial responsibility. With 
currently available information, it is not 
possible in many cases to isolate 
penalties meted out for failure to maintain 
financial responsibility. However, it 
appears that the typical penalty for a first-
time offense has been a fifty-dollar fine 
and a thirty-day driver’s license 
suspension. On average, the courts are 
imposing fines of fifty to one hundred fifty 
dollars and are imposing little or no jail 
time. The penalties appear to be 
consistent within a judicial circuit but vary 
widely among circuits. 
 
The work group also found that over the 
past three years there have been 2,441 
multiple convictions for lack of financial 
responsibility with a total of 1,122 
individuals accounting for these charges. 
Of these convictions, 899 individuals 
were convicted twice, 163 individuals 
were convicted three times, and three 
individuals were convicted at least seven 
times. Pennington and Minnehaha 
counties account for over half of these 
multiple convictions. 
 
Work Group Focus 
 
The working group spent a considerable 
amount of time discussing whether a 
broad-based approach targeting the 
population at large or a more focused 
approach aimed at the uninsured drivers 
would be a more cost effective method to 
reduce the percentage of uninsured. The 
group decided the best method would be 
to focus on the uninsured drivers, not the 
population at large. The consensus was 
that the more broad-based approaches 

were not cost effective and had a 
negative impact on drivers who do 
maintain financial responsibility. For 
instance, those methods that require 
proof of insurance before a vehicle can 
be licensed will result in a less efficient 
and slower process to obtain licensure, 
thereby adding to the length of waiting 
lines. In addition there is a question about 
the effectiveness of this type of 
requirement. A person can show proof of 
financial responsibility on the day of 
getting his or her vehicle licensed and 
have that coverage canceled the very 
next day. 
 
Possible Solutions to the Problem 
 
Better communications between state 
department computer systems, better 
education of the public, stiffer penalties 
for repeat offenders, and better tracking 
of uninsured motorist conviction data 
were the main solutions discussed by the 
working group.  
 
Improved Computer System Links -- 
Various solutions were discussed by the 
group, with some action already being 
taken. As of August 7, 2000, a program 
that interfaces the databases of motor 
vehicle registrations and driver licensing 
has been implemented. The program 
shows financial responsibility 
suspensions and flags them for the 
county treasurer at the time of vehicle 
registration renewal. This enables the 
county treasurer to refrain from 
processing these registrations and 
instead refer the person to the Office of 
Driver Licensing. 
 
Public Education -- The group discussed 
educational options as a course of action 
with one possibility being a 
comprehensive educational program 
aimed at greatly increasing public 
awareness. This could include posters at 
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public offices and schools, brochures 
distributed at the time of vehicle 
registration, and driver's education 
enhancements. Possibly an informational 
video on financial responsibility could be 
distributed to school systems and driver 
education programs with the 
recommendation to add the information to 
course curriculum. 
 
Information about financial responsibility 
is already included in the driver's 
licensing manual and on the Division of 
Insurance's web page. A link has been 
established between the Office of Driver 
Licensing's website and the auto 
insurance section on the Division of 
Insurance's website. The Division of 
Insurance has also implemented 
Question/Answer news columns on this 
topic in local newspapers across the 
state. 
 
Stiffer Penalties -- Options to encourage 
or enable the judicial system to take more 
stringent actions with respect to 
uninsured motorists, especially repeat 
offenders, were discussed. The work 
group felt that this was a complex issue 
as a number of factors need to be 
considered in determining whether 
penalties should or could reasonably be 
increased. For instance, one of the 
primary reasons people are uninsured is 
cost. An increase in fines for these people 
may not be feasible. The work group 
made no recommendation regarding 
stiffer penalties. 
 
Better Data Tracking -- The work group 
felt that additional data regarding multiple 
convictions for lack of financial 

responsibility could be collected and 
tracked, including more information on 
the penalties that are being imposed on 
multiple offenders and the number of 
multiple offenses by geographic area. 
The work group felt this would help 
provide better statistical information that 
could be used to identify possible 
solutions to decrease the uninsured 
motorist population in the future. 
 
Conclusion 
 
There appears to be no perfect solution to 
the problem of uninsured motorists. 
Despite the myriad of laws and the level 
of enforcement of those laws by all fifty 
states the problem persists. Based on all 
known studies the uninsured motorist rate 
in South Dakota appears to be less than 
7%. South Dakota's uninsured motorist 
rate is low when compared to other 
states. The work group felt that any 
further efforts to reduce the number of 
uninsured motorists should focus on the 
uninsured motorist and should not 
inconvenience the vast majority of 
motorists who are insured. The work 
group's list of possible solutions focuses 
on improved administrative actions that 
can be taken to identify and deal with 
uninsured motorists, especially those 
motorists who are repeat offenders. A 
comprehensive educational program to 
increase public awareness about the 
requirement for motorists to be financially 
responsible was also suggested by the 
group. It is also important to note that the 
work group did not recommend any 
changes to South Dakota's financial 
responsibility law. 

 
 
This issue memorandum was written by David L. Ortbahn, Principal Research Analyst for 
the Legislative Research Council.  It is designed to supply background information on 
the subject and is not a policy statement made by the Legislative Research Council. 
 


