Bills Sponsored

Cheryl Madden

Primary Sponsor

Bill Title
SB 93 establish certain requirements for genetic testing.
SB 94 permit the posting or display of the United States flag, giving the pledge of allegiance, and singing the national anthem.

Co Sponsor

Bill Title
HB 1092 provide resident tuition rates for certain nonresident National Guard members and to revise certain tuition benefits for resident National Guard members.
HB 1106 revise certain provisions regarding the confidential nature of peer review activities of physicians.
HB 1108 require that counties be reimbursed for housing persons sent to county jail in lieu of the penitentiary.
HB 1116 prohibit a person from being on the general election ballot for President or vice-president and another office.
HB 1129 revise certain provisions regarding concealed pistol permits.
HB 1165 permit more time to file local referendums.
HB 1216 authorize shareholders to vote and to make certain other communications by electronic means.
HB 1224 prohibit interference with the use of communication devices to summon aid to an emergency.
HB 1236 declare a disaster in certain federal forest areas and to authorize state and local remedial action.
HB 1255 provide that the provisions limiting the number of retail alcohol licenses that may be issued to one person do not apply to certain additional convention facility on-sale licenses.
HB 1272 authorize certain wine shipments, to levy an excise tax, and to establish certain penalties.
HC 1004 Honoring and commending the members of the South Dakota National Guard.
HC 1015 Commending and honoring Julie Dangel of Scotland, South Dakota, for being selected as the 2001 "Nurse of the Year" by the South Dakota Healthcare Association Nursing Council.
HC 1018 Honoring the Morgan family athletes past and present who attended Dakota Wesleyan University as one of the most outstanding basketball families in South Dakota history.
HCR 1001 Requesting the United States Congress not to attempt to repeal or rescind any of the tax relief legislation passed by the United States Congress in May 2001.
HCR 1008 Supporting the Kids Voting Program.
HCR 1012 Urging a reconsideration of the Food and Drug Administration's approval of mifepristone (RU-486), an investigation into the process followed in approving this drug, and a reassessment of the drug's safety.
HCR 1013 Recognizing Ellsworth Air Force Base personnel as an outstanding component of our nation's defenses.
HCR 1020 Requesting a discussion of the problems existing between the State of South Dakota and the federal government on issues of state and federal powers and responsibilities.
HCR 1021 Requesting the Department of Corrections to expand their mission statement.
HCR 1022 Supporting the National Motto of the United States.
HJR 1003 Proposing and submitting to the electors at the next general election an amendment to Article XII, Section 2 of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, relating to expenditures from funds established by a two-thirds vote of both houses of the Legislature.
SB 60 exempt the purchase of books from sales and use tax.
SB 66 prohibit the use of certain camera technology for speeding violations.
SB 68 limit state expenditures.
SB 88 require municipalities to be responsible for sidewalks located on property owned by the municipality.
SB 91 provide for DNA testing for certain inmates.
SB 101 provide for the release of the booking photographs of prisoners under certain conditions.
SB 107 provide for the transfer of certain statutes regarding domestic abuse.
SB 121 revise certain provisions regarding the family exclusion for auto insurance coverage.
SB 123 make it permissive for counties to levy a tax for secondary roads in unorganized territories.
SB 124 repeal certain provisions concerning the county highway system.
SB 128 establish certain civil penalties for overweight vehicle violations and to provide for the disposition of the civil penalties.
SB 130 provide for the implementation of certain prairie dog management plans or activities with legislative approval.
SC 1 Honoring Coleen C. Keffeler of Sturgis on her selection as National Teacher of the Year for Career and Technical Education.
SC 4 Honoring 4-H clubs and 4-H members on the centennial celebration of the founding of 4-H.
SC 5 Honoring Jeffrey Lukens of Sioux Falls as South Dakota's 2002 Teacher of the Year.
SC 8 Commemorating the retirement of Fred Tully and recognizing him for his dedication and steadfast leadership to the Black Hills Children's Home and Children's Home Society of South Dakota for over two decades.
SC 10 Honoring Coleen C. Keffeler of Sturgis on her selection as National Teacher of the Year for Career and Technical Education.
SC 12 Honoring the outstanding achievements of Patty Pearson, Executive Director of Kids Voting South Dakota.
SC 13 Honoring Dawn Morris of Pierre on her selection as National Mother of the Year.
SC 15 Honoring South Dakota native Adam Vinatieri for kicking the winning field goal in Super Bowl XXXVI.
SC 16 Honoring and commending Carrie Gonsor on her selection as one of the torchbearers for the 2002 Olympics.
SC 20 Honoring and supporting those individuals in Ukraine who support the Fulbright program for the international exchange of scholars.
SC 21 Honoring and congratulating LaFola Korkow on her ninetieth birthday.
SC 22 Commending and honoring Rebecca Umenthum of the Belle Fourche School District, Barbara Huber of the Douglas School District, Katrina Rudebusch of the Rapid City School District, Roxie Ahlbrecht and Cynthia Nelson of the Sioux Falls School District, Reva Sigle of the Spearfish School District, Mary Kate Axlund of the Sturgis School District, and Shannon Amiotte of the Wall School District, for gaining national teacher certification.
SC 23 Honoring South Dakota's Lieutenant Governor Carole Hillard for her career in public service.
SC 24 Honoring the memory of Senator Harold W. Halverson and lamenting his untimely passing.
SCR 1 Commemorating the 20th anniversary this year of the death of Crazy Horse Memorial sculptor Korczak Ziolkowski and recognizing the sculptor's wife and family for their dedication and great progress at the Memorial during the two decades since Korczak's passing.
SCR 3 Requesting the forest service to address the forest health and wildfire risk crisis facing the Black Hills.
SCR 4 Supporting adequate funding for vocational-technical education programs in South Dakota.
SCR 13 Urging the United States Congress to pass, and the President of the United States to sign, legislation that completely bans human cloning.
SCR 15 Honoring Governor William J. Janklow for his service to the State of South Dakota.
SJR 5 Proposing and submitting to the electors at the next general election amendments to Article III of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, relating to legislative appointments and conflicts of interest.

2002 Session Menu