80th Legislative Session _ 2005

Committee: Senate Health and Human Services
Wednesday, February 16, 2005

                                            P - Present
                                            E - Excused
                                            A - Absent

Roll Call
P    Adelstein
P    Duniphan
P    Olson (Ed)
P    Sutton (Dan)
P    Two Bulls
P    Hansen (Tom), Vice-Chair
P    Dempster, Chair

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Dempster, Chair


Moved by:    Duniphan
Second by:    Hansen (Tom)
Action:    Prevailed by voice vote.

         HB 1106: revise the duties of certain licensed mental health professionals with regard to certain insanity and guilty-but-mentally-ill proceedings.

Proponents:    Representative Jamie Boomgarden
        John Elhai, SDPA
        Jodi Sabatino, SDPA
        Mitch Richter, SD Psychological Association
Opponents:    Dr. David Bean, SDAPA (Handout #1)
        Representative Shawn Tornow
        Dean Krogman, SDSMA
        Dr. John Barlow, SDSMA
        Larry Long, Attorney General

The Chair deferred HB 1106.

         HB 1229: require standards for certain family day care providers.

Proponents:    Senator Dan Sutton
        Representative Jeffrey Haverly (Handout #2)
        Leonard Van Buskirk, Self
        Representative Cooper Garnos
        Shirlene Groethe, Family Day Care
        Gwen Simmons, SDAEYC
        Dennis Eisenbraun, Emerald City Daycare, Rapid City
        Sandy Skagen, Family Child Care
        Holly Davison, self
Opponents:    Kathy Beck, Family Child Care
        Korie Wallin, Family Child Care
        Connie Edwards, Family Day Care
        Linda Grass, Family Child Care
        Michelle Rice, Family Child Care
        Jolene (Jody) Keegan, Family Child Care
        Nancy Lester, self
        Kitty Werthmann, Eagle Forum

The Chair deferred HB 1229 until Wednesday, February 23, 2005.


Moved by:    Duniphan
Second by:    Hansen (Tom)
Action:    Prevailed by voice vote.

Naida Chavez


Committee Secretary
Thomas A. Dempster, Chair

Page 1