Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Education
Room:     423
Date:    Tuesday, February 7, 2006
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

CONFIRM:    reappointment of Joseph M. Dondelinger, Minnehaha County, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Board of Directors for Educational Telecommunications

CONFIRM:    reappointment of Glenna Fouberg, Brown County, Aberdeen, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Board of Education

CONFIRM:    reappointment of Marilyn Hoyt, Beadle County, Huron, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Board of Education

CONFIRM:    appointment of Kathryn Johnson, Pennington County, Rapid City, South Dakota, to the State Board of Regents

         SB 81     revise the index factor for determining the per student allocation for school districts.
             Senators Schoenbeck, Abdallah, Duniphan, Kelly, Kloucek, Koetzle, McCracken, Moore, and Olson (Ed) and Representatives Cutler, Haley, Jensen, McCoy, Murschel, Nelson, and Roberts

         SB 198     repeal certain provisions regarding the reduction in state aid to education based on school district general fund balances.
             The Committee on Education at the request of the Governor

         SB 199     create a teacher compensation assistance program.
             The Committee on Education at the request of the Governor

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         SB 134     revise state aid to education to include aid to sparse school districts.
             Senator Bogue

         SB 170     establish and appropriate money to the 21st Century Education Fund, to increase funding for education, and to revise the index factor in the state aid to education formula.
             Senators Knudson, Adelstein, Dempster, Duniphan, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Kooistra, McCracken, Olson (Ed), and Sutton (Duane) and Representatives Deadrick, Cutler, Hills, Jerke, McLaughlin, Nelson, Putnam, and Willadsen