81st Legislative Session _ 2006

Committee: House Education
Thursday, February 02, 2006

                                            P - Present
                                            E - Excused
                                            A - Absent

Roll Call
P    Bradford
P    Brunner
P    Buckingham
P    Elliott
P    Hills
P    Nelson
P    Novstrup
P    Olson (Ryan)
P    Roberts
P    Schafer
P    Van Norman
P    Weems
P    Wick
P    McLaughlin, Vice-Chair
P    Heineman, Chair

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Chair Heineman


Moved by:    Hills
Second by:    Brunner
Action:    Prevailed by voice vote.

         HB 1182: allow school districts to expend from the capital outlay fund for some of their mileage reimbursement costs.

Presented by:    Representative Gary Jerke

Proponents:    Tom Oster, self, Avon


Moved by:    Buckingham
Second by:    Hills
Action:    Prevailed by roll call vote.(13-0-2-0)

Voting Yes:    Bradford, Brunner, Buckingham, Elliott, Hills, Nelson, Novstrup, Roberts, Schafer, Van Norman, Weems, McLaughlin, Heineman

Excused:    Olson (Ryan), Wick


Moved by:    Roberts
Second by:    Elliott
Action:    Prevailed by voice vote.

         HB 1213: provide for the compensation of school districts that experience significant gains in enrollment from one year to the next.

Presented by:    Representative Paul Dennert
Proponents:    Larry Nelson, Middle Sized Schools Organization
Opponents:    Darla Mayer, Department of Education

The Chair deferred HB 1213 until Friday, February 3, 2006.

         HB 1168: revise the method for imposing the excess levy for the general fund of school districts.

Presented by:    Representative Paul Dennert

The Chair deferred HB 1168 until Friday, February 3, 2006.

         HB 1217: provide for the clarification of sexual abstinence instruction and to condition the acceptance of federal funding contrary to the provisions of this Act.

Presented by:    Representative Roger Hunt (Handout #1)
Proponents:    Tammy Cooper-Mosser, self, Sioux Falls
        Larry Hoover, self, Sioux Falls
        Leon Matthews, self, Pine Ridge
        Robert Rector, self, Washington, DC (Via Phone)
        Alisha Vincent, self, Spearfish
        Gracie Chang, self, Sioux Falls
        Dr. Lornell Hanson, MD, self, Sioux Falls (Via Phone)
Opponents:    Dr. Marty Allison, MD, self, Pierre
        Jim Engelbrecht, SDSMA, Sioux Falls
        Eileen Leir, self, Rapid City
        Shirley Frederick, self, Rapid City
        Ben Jensen, self, Rapid City
        Brett Koenecke, SD Nurses Assn.
        Donna DeKraai, SDEA
        Dianna Miller, ESD + 6
        Larry Nelson, Middle Sized Schools Organization

The Chair deferred HB 1217 until Friday, February 3, 2006.

         HB 1194: prohibit the distribution of contraceptives to public school students, to prohibit public school employees from referring public school students to abortion or family planning services, and to provide penalties therefor.

Presented by:    Representative Keri Weems
Proponents:    Dave DeVries, National Abstinence Clearing House
        Quin Brunner, self, Nisland
        Penny Martens, self, Sioux Falls
        Leon Matthews, self, Pine Ridge
        Alisha Vincent, self, Spearfish
        Cathi Clapper, self, Sioux Falls
        Kimberly Martinez, self, Sioux Falls
        Roxie Johnson, self, Spearfish
Opponents:    Shirley Frederick, self, Rapid City
        Jill Stephens, self, Aberdeen
        Brett Koenecke, SD Nurses Assn.
        Jennifer Ring, ACLU of The Dakotas
        Jim Engelbrecht, SDSMA, Sioux Falls
        Donna DeKraai, SDEA

The Chair deferred HB 1194 until Friday, February 3, 2006.


Moved by:    Nelson
Second by:    Buckingham
Action:    Prevailed by voice vote.

Lois Henry


Committee Secretary
Phyllis M. Heineman, Chair

Page 1