Committee Agenda

Committee:    House Education
Room:     412
Date:    Thursday, February 8, 2007
Time:    10:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1141     create the facility equity fund to assist certain school districts with critical need for capital construction.
             Representatives Buckingham, Hackl, Kirkeby, Miles, Olson (Betty), Weems, and Wick and Senators Napoli, Greenfield, Jerstad, Katus, and Olson (Ed)

         HB 1159     create the facility equity fund to provide financial assistance to certain school districts with critical capital construction needs.
             Representatives Dennert, Davis, Elliott, Hackl, Van Norman, and Wick and Senators Duenwald, Bartling, Jerstad, and Maher

         HB 1220     distribute state aid to education funds to certain school districts with growing enrollments based on current enrollment data.
             Representatives Wick, Dykstra, Hunt, Kirkeby, Krebs, Miles, Steele, and Willadsen and Senators Jerstad, Abdallah, Gant, and Koetzle

         HB 1239     revise the index factor used to determine the per student allocation of state aid to education.
             Representatives Ahlers, Burg, Dennert, Elliott, Engels, Feinstein, Gassman, Gilson, Halverson, Hargens, Hills, Nygaard, Sigdestad, Thompson, and Van Norman and Senators Heidepriem, Albers, Bartling, Dempster, Hoerth, Jerstad, Katus, Kloucek, Koetzle, Nesselhuf, Peterson (Jim), Turbak, and Two Bulls

         HB 1261     increase the index factor in the state aid to education formula and to establish criteria that a school district with a small high school must meet in order to receive state aid to education.
             Representatives McLaughlin, Cutler, Dreyer, Elliott, Hills, Kirkeby, Lust, Steele, and Turbiville and Senators Hansen (Tom), Abdallah, Katus, McCracken, and Olson (Ed)

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         HB 1276     appropriate money to the Department of Education to fund a new cyber high school.
             Representatives Rave, Deadrick, Jerke, Juhnke, Putnam, and Rounds and Senators Hunhoff, Bartling, and Olson (Ed)

         HB 1266     allow a home school student to partially enroll in the student's resident school district or in another school district under certain circumstances.
             Representatives Brunner, Buckingham, DeVries, Hackl, Heineman, Howie, Hunt, Novstrup (Al), and Novstrup (David) and Senators Napoli and Lintz

         HB 1146     establish education service agencies to provide services to school districts on a regional basis and to make an appropriation therefor.
             Representatives Dykstra, Brunner, Cutler, Elliott, Gillespie, Halverson, Heineman, Krebs, Lust, McLaughlin, Pitts, Rhoden, and Wick and Senators Olson (Ed), Albers, Dempster, Heidepriem, Jerstad, Knudson, Koetzle, Maher, McCracken, McNenny, Peterson (Jim), and Turbak

         HB 1221     appropriate money to enhance career and technical education in the state.
             Representatives Wick, Brunner, Dykstra, Elliott, Faehn, Glenski, Hackl, Hills, Jerke, Kirkeby, Koistinen, Lucas, McLaughlin, Novstrup (Al), Novstrup (David), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Olson (Ryan), Pederson (Gordon), Pitts, Sigdestad, Steele, Tidemann, Turbiville, Van Etten, Van Norman, and Weems and Senators Hansen (Tom), Abdallah, Bartling, Greenfield, Kloucek, McNenny, and Smidt (Orville)