Committee Agenda

Committee:    House Education
Room:     412
Date:    Thursday, February 15, 2007
Time:    10:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1291     create a teacher compensation assistance program.
             The Committee on Education at the request of the Office of the Governor

         HB 1268     appropriate money for Teach for America.
             Representatives Heineman and Olson (Ryan) and Senators Olson (Ed), Gant, Gray, Heidepriem, Hoerth, Kloucek, Maher, Nesselhuf, and Turbak

         HB 1300     provide for a public utility data source containing information from school districts and to make an appropriation therefor.
             Representatives Heineman, Buckingham, Dykstra, and Wick and Senators Smidt (Orville) and Garnos

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         HB 1290     provide for an Office of Indian Education and an Indian Education Advisory Council and to establish certain provisions to enhance Indian education in the state.
             The Committee on Education at the request of the Office of the Governor

         HB 1146     establish education service agencies to provide services to school districts on a regional basis and to make an appropriation therefor.
             Representatives Dykstra, Brunner, Cutler, Elliott, Gillespie, Halverson, Heineman, Krebs, Lust, McLaughlin, Pitts, Rhoden, and Wick and Senators Olson (Ed), Albers, Dempster, Heidepriem, Jerstad, Knudson, Koetzle, Maher, McCracken, McNenny, Peterson (Jim), and Turbak

         HB 1221     appropriate money to enhance career and technical education in the state.
             Representatives Wick, Brunner, Dykstra, Elliott, Faehn, Glenski, Hackl, Hills, Jerke, Kirkeby, Koistinen, Lucas, McLaughlin, Novstrup (Al), Novstrup (David), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Olson (Ryan), Pederson (Gordon), Pitts, Sigdestad, Steele, Tidemann, Turbiville, Van Etten, Van Norman, and Weems and Senators Hansen (Tom), Abdallah, Bartling, Greenfield, Kloucek, McNenny, and Smidt (Orville)

         HB 1276     appropriate money to the Department of Education to fund a new cyber high school.
             Representatives Rave, Deadrick, Jerke, Juhnke, Putnam, and Rounds and Senators Hunhoff, Bartling, and Olson (Ed)

         HB 1273     require that sixty-five percent of a school district's operating budget be expended for instructional purposes.
             Representatives Wick, Haverly, Koistinen, Nelson, Steele, Van Etten, and Weems and Senators Gant, Greenfield, Hansen (Tom), Maher, and Smidt (Orville)