Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Commerce
Room:     413
Date:    Thursday, February 15, 2007
Time:    10:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1144     limit the transfer of contested Public Utilities Commission cases to the Office of Hearing Examiners.
             Representatives Cutler, Ahlers, Boomgarden, Brunner, Faehn, Hunt, Juhnke, Miles, Moore, Novstrup (David), Nygaard, Pederson (Gordon), Rave, Rounds, Street, Turbiville, Vehle, and Willadsen and Senators Turbak, Abdallah, Bartling, Dempster, Gray, Hanson (Gary), Katus, Koetzle, McCracken, and Nesselhuf

         HB 1150     revise certain provisions relating to deceptive trade practices.
             Representatives Peters, Cutler, Engels, Gillespie, Krebs, Lust, Miles, Novstrup (David), Vehle, and Willadsen and Senators Hansen (Tom), Abdallah, Albers, Koetzle, and Turbak

         HB 1172*     clarify certain limits placed on persons lending money.
             Representatives Cutler, Gilson, Glenski, Hanks, Hills, Kirkeby, McLaughlin, Miles, Novstrup (David), Rave, and Rounds and Senators Dempster, Duenwald, Heidepriem, Koetzle, Nesselhuf, Peterson (Jim), and Turbak

         HB 1180     repeal certain provisions found to be unconstitutional, which required insurers to obtain a countersignature on policies.
             Representatives Willadsen, Dykstra, Elliott, Krebs, Novstrup (Al), Novstrup (David), and Peters and Senators McCracken, Abdallah, Gant, Gray, and Napoli

         HB 1196*     provide for notice and opportunity to remedy residential construction defects.
             Representatives Rounds, Boomgarden, Buckingham, Cutler, Engels, Feinstein, Gilson, Lust, Moore, Noem, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Ryan), Peters, Weems, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators McCracken, Abdallah, Albers, Gray, Hoerth, Jerstad, Koetzle, and Schmidt (Dennis)

         HB 1285     restrict unsolicited commercial electronic mail advertisements.
             Representatives Faehn, Carson, Dykstra, Feinstein, Halverson, Hargens, Heineman, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lust, Nelson, Peters, Rounds, Steele, Vehle, and Willadsen and Senators Gant, Abdallah, Gray, McCracken, Olson (Ed), and Schmidt (Dennis)

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.