2017 House Commemoration 1021 - Enrolled


Introduced by:    Representatives Rozum and Carson and Senator Klumb

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring and commending the 2016 Class AA Mitchell Kernels Football Team on winning the South Dakota Class AA State Football Championship for Mitchell High School, the first time in play-off history.

    WHEREAS, the student athletes of the Mitchell High School Football Team set goals, prepared, displayed sportsmanship, and demonstrated teamwork while competing with tenacity, and earning a championship by believing in their strengths and focusing on fundamentals; and

    WHEREAS, the offensive and defensive squads set school records, setting the bar extremely high for future teams, while establishing a culture centered around discipline and pride; and

    WHEREAS, the team earned an 11-1 record overall, featuring a stout defense that rallied behind an "All Gas, No Brakes" defense and an offense that rushed for 4,101 yards, taking down school records along the way; and

    WHEREAS, the team and individual players set new Class AA Football Championship records with senior Spencer Neugebauer rushing for 236 yards, sophomore Kiel Nelson with the longest rushing play from scrimmage and a 90-yard touchdown, and kicking specialist senior Seth Paulson breaking a state football record by scoring 89 points; and

    WHEREAS, the team's average margin of victory for the season versus the competition was 45-12, and the Kernels student body and the community of Mitchell displayed spirit and pride in support of the season's success; and

    WHEREAS, the 2016 Mitchell Kernels Football Program was guided under the direction of activities director Cory Aadland and led by an excellent coaching staff consisting of Kent Van Overschelde, Travis Carpenter, Joe Kramer, Eric Witte, Paul Nelson, and Walter Moody:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Second Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Mitchell High School Kernels Football Team is honored for
its stellar championship performance in winning the 2016 South Dakota Class AA State Football Championship.

Click message to listen