2020 House Concurrent Resolution 6020 - Enrolled

SDLRC - 2020 House Concurrent Resolution 6020 - SD Legislature Denouncing the National Education Association's recent policy to support "the fundamental right to abortion."

20.690.12 95th Legislative Session 745

2020 South Dakota Legislature

House Concurrent Resolution 6020


An Act

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Denouncing the National Education Association's recent policy to support "the fundamental right to abortion."

WHEREAS, delegates to the National Education Association's 2019 annual conference passed a business item stating, "the NEA vigorously opposes all attacks on the right to choose and stands on the fundamental right to abortion under Roe v. Wade"; and

WHEREAS, South Dakota recognizes that abortion ends the life of a whole, separate, unique, living human being; and

WHEREAS, the National Education Association states, as one of its core values, that all students have the human right to a quality public education; and

WHEREAS, all human rights begin with life; and

WHEREAS, many South Dakota teachers and other education professionals acknowledge the right to life of children within the womb and are opposed to abortion; and

WHEREAS, at public expense, the South Dakota teachers tirelessly fulfill their high calling to form children in a love for knowledge, truth, justice, and magnanimous citizenship; and

WHEREAS, we, the duly elected representatives of the people of South Dakota, serve the people by discharging the highest duty of government to protect the intrinsic, natural, fundamental rights of all children of our state:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the Legislature denounces the National Education Association's abortion policy and strongly urges the National Education Association to rescind the policy.

Adopted by the House of Representatives, March 4, 2020

Concurred in by the Senate, March 10, 2020

_____________________ _____________________ Steven G. Haugaard Mary Lou Goehring Speaker of the House Chief Clerk

_____________________ _____________________ Larry Rhoden Kay Johnson President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate

Click message to listen