1-27-20Common language used in public documents, records, and meetings--Official indigenous language.

The common language of the state is English. The common language is designated as the language of any official public document or record and any official public meeting. The official indigenous language of the state is the language of the O'ceti Sakowin, Seven Council Fires, also known by treaty as the Great Sioux Nation, comprised of three dialects, Lakota, Dakota, and Nakota.

Source: SL 1995, ch 9, § 1; SL 2019, ch 6, § 1.