38-12A-25Appointment of committee members--Election of chairman and secretary.

The secretary shall appoint an arbitration committee composed of five members and five alternate members.

One member and one alternate member shall be appointed upon recommendation of each of the following:

(1)    Director of extension at South Dakota State University;

(2)    Director of the agriculture experiment station at South Dakota State University;

(3)    President, South Dakota Seed Trade Association;

(4)    President, a farmer organization as the secretary may determine to be appropriate;

(5)    Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Each member and alternate shall continue to serve until replaced by the secretary. Each alternate member shall serve only in the absence of the member for whom he is an alternate. The committee shall elect a chairman and a secretary from its membership. The chairman shall conduct all meetings and deliberations held by the committee and direct all other activities of the committee. The secretary shall keep accurate and correct records on all meetings and deliberations and perform other duties for the committee as directed by the chairman.

Source: SL 1988, ch 314, § 24; SL 1989, ch 30, § 66A; SL 2021, ch 1 (Ex. Ord. 21-3), § 51, eff. Apr. 19, 2021.