§ 3.   Governance of state educational institutions. The state university, the agriculture college, the school of mines and technology, the normal schools, a school for the deaf, a school for the blind, and all other educational institutions that may be sustained either wholly or in part by the state and that offer academic or professional degrees of associate of arts, associate of sciences, baccalaureate or greater, shall be under the control of a board of five members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the senate under such rules and restrictions as the Legislature shall provide. The Legislature may increase the number of members to nine. Postsecondary technical education institutes that offer career and technical associate of applied science degrees and certificates or their successor equivalents and that are funded wholly or in part by the state shall be separately governed as determined by the Legislature.

History: Amendment proposed by SL 1895, ch 36, approved Nov., 1896. Amendment proposed by SL 1913, ch 133, rejected Nov., 1914. Amendment proposed by SL 1943, ch 264, approved Nov., 1944. Amendment proposed by SL 2015, ch 80, § 2 approved Nov. 8, 2016, eff. Nov. 16, 2016.