
 
 

Cigarette & Tobacco Taxation  
 

Introduction 

Tobacco use is a leading cause of preventable disease and death in the 
United States. Cigarette and tobacco taxation have been commonly used not 
only to discourage tobacco use and enhance public health but also generate 
revenue. Cigarettes and other tobacco products are taxed by federal, state, and 
local governments in various ways, including excise taxes. This memorandum 
provides an overview of the taxation and regulation of cigarettes and tobacco 
products in South Dakota and an overview of other state cigarette excise tax 
and other tobacco product tax rates.  

Cigarette Tax 

The Legislature first levied a statewide excise tax on cigarettes in 1923. The cigarette tax is imposed on all 

cigarettes held in this state for sale by any person. The most recent change occurred in 2007, after voters adopted 

Initiated Measure 2, which increased the cigarette tax on a 20 pack of 

cigarettes from $0.53 to $1.53. Before that, the tax increased from $0.33 to 

$0.53 per pack of 20 cigarettes and from $0.42 to $0.67 on packs of 

25 cigarettes in 2003. The table to the right shows the cigarette tax rates 

since 1959.  

Retail sales of cigarettes are also subject to the state sales and use tax rate 

plus the municipal sales and use tax rate in addition to any cigarette excise 

tax. Of the surrounding states, South Dakota has one of the lowest general 

state sales tax rates at 4.5%. Iowa and Minnesota general state sales tax 

rates are 6% and 6.875%, respectively. Nebraska and North Dakota general 

state sales tax rates are slightly lower at 5.5% and 5%, respectively. Montana 

does not have a general state sales tax. In addition to the state excise tax, 

the federal government levies a $1.01 excise tax on each pack of 

20 cigarettes. The federal tax was increased from $0.39 per pack in 2009.  

Cigarette Tax in Other States 

Every state imposes a tax on cigarettes, but states vary considerably regarding their tax rates. Almost all cigarette 

excise taxes were adopted before 1950; only 10 states have adopted taxes since 1951. Except for Minnesota and 

Montana, South Dakota has the highest excise tax on cigarettes of all the neighboring states. The rates of Wyoming 

($0.60/pack), Nebraska ($0.64/pack), North Dakota ($0.44/ pack), Minnesota ($3.04/pack), Montana ($1.70/pack) 

and Iowa ($1.36/pack) is applied to each package of 20 cigarettes.  

States with the lowest taxes on cigarettes include Missouri ($0.17 cents per pack), and Virginia ($0.30 cents per 

pack), although both Missouri and Virginia are among the few states that allow counties and cities to impose an 

additional tax on cigarettes (in Missouri, from $0.04 to $0.07 and in Virginia, $0.02 to $0.15). Fourteen states plus 

the District of Columbia impose a $2.00 or greater tax on a pack of cigarettes, with the largest taxes in New York 

($4.35 per pack plus $1.50 per pack in New York City), Connecticut ($3.90 per pack) and Rhode Island ($3.75 per 

pack). A comparison of all states' cigarette excise tax rates is found in Appendix A. These rates apply to packages 

of 20 cigarettes. 

  

Table 1: Cigarette Tax Rates 
Per Pack of Twenty Cigarettes 

Year Tax Rate 

1959 $0.05 

1963 $0.06 

1965 $0.08 

1969 $0.12 

1979 $0.14 

1981 $0.15 

1985 $0.23 

1995 $0.33 

2003 $0.53 

2007 $1.53 
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Other Tobacco Products Tax 

Other tobacco products tax (OTP) is 35% of the wholesale price in South Dakota. This tax was first imposed in 

1995 at the rate of 10%. The OTP was increased from 10% to 35% in 2007. The OTP tax applies to cigars, snuff, 

chewing tobacco, and any other tobacco product except cigarettes. This tax is paid by wholesalers and distributors. 

Of the surrounding states, Minnesota has the highest tax rate at 95%, while Wyoming and Nebraska have the 

lowest at 20%. A comparison of all states OTP rates is found in Appendix B.  

Licensing, Registration and Sale of Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products 

The Department of Revenue is responsible for collecting the cigarette excise tax, the other tobacco products tax 

(OTP), and regulating brands of cigarettes and roll-your-own (RYO). All retailers selling cigarettes and tobacco 

products must be registered with the Department of Revenue. Retailers are required to purchase tobacco 

products only from distributors licensed in this state. Each retailer must ensure all packs of cigarettes offered for 

sale are stamped with the state tax stamp. Once a licensed distributor has paid the state tax, they receive stamps 

to affix to each tobacco product in order to sell at retail. Forty-seven states and the District of Columbia currently 

require a tax stamp affixed to tobacco products.  

All distributors selling cigarettes or any tobacco product, except a retailer, must be licensed. The license fee is 

$150 annually (SDCL 10-50-11). This licensing fee was last raised from $20 to $150 in 1966. License fees vary 

greatly by state, from no fee to upwards of $1,500 in New York. Table 2 below shows the total revenue in the state 

from the cigarette tax, other tobacco products tax and cigarette licensing fees. 

Table 2: Total Revenue from Cigarette Tax, Other Tobacco Products and Cigarette Licensing Fees.  

Fiscal Year Cigarette Tax-State Other Tobacco Products Cigarette Licensing Fees 

FY08 $57,159,643  $5,306,176 $12,675 

FY09 $57,190,869  $5,356,550 $12,300 

FY10 $56,657,446  $5,734,603 $12,150 

FY11 $51,787,334 $6,056,806 $14,175 

FY12 $50,976,072 $6,514,247 $12,753 

FY13 $51,621,443 $6,883,716 $13,950 

FY14 $51,981,414  $7,444,528 $12,750 

FY15 $50,470,002 $7,647,312 $17,678 

FY16 $54,659,076 $8,308,636 $12,752 

FY17 $52,992,498 $8,816,651 $12,975 

Distribution of Tax Revenue 

Currently, the first $30 million generated from the tax revenue on cigarettes and other tobacco products is 

allocated to the state general fund. The next $5 million collected annually is deposited in the Tobacco Prevention 

and Reduction Trust Fund (SDCL 34-46-12). The Tobacco Prevention and Reduction Trust Fund is used to 

implement the Tobacco Prevention and Reduction Program. In 2014, the Legislature approved using $500,000 

annually from the tax dollars previously allocated for the Tobacco Prevention and Reduction Program, for 

municipal mosquito control efforts. The Tobacco Prevention and Reduction Program is allocated the remaining 

$4.5 million, in addition to federal funds.  
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In November 2006, the voters of South Dakota adopted Initiated Measure 2, which affected the distribution of tax 

revenue from cigarettes and other tobacco products. Prior to 2007, all the tax revenue from cigarettes and other 

tobacco products was deposited to the state general fund. From FY07 through FY15, any tobacco tax revenue in 

excess of $35 million was divided among the Property Tax Reduction Fund (33% share), the Education 

Enhancement Tobacco Tax Fund (33% share), and the Health Care Tobacco Tax Fund (34% share). HB 1050, passed 

during the 2015 legislative session, repealed the Property Tax Reduction Fund, the Health Care Tobacco Tax Fund, 

and the Education Enhancement Tobacco Tax Fund. Beginning in FY2016, all the tobacco taxes collected in excess 

of $35 million are allocated to the state general fund.  

Conclusion 

The regulation and taxation of cigarettes and other tobacco products has and will continue to provide significant 

revenue for the general fund. The last major change to the state's tobacco tax rates was decided by South Dakota 

voters in 2007. The issue is a hardy perennial, however, and it is only a matter of time before the Legislature or 

the voters face the question of raising cigarette and other tobacco product taxes once again.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This issue memorandum was written by Amanda Jacobs, Senior Research Analyst, on 
11/09/2017 for the Legislative Research Council. It is designed to provide 

background information on the subject and is not a policy statement made by the 
Legislative Research Council. 
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Appendix A-State Excise Tax Rates on Cigarettes 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STATE EXCISE TAX RATES ON CIGARETTES

(January 1, 2017)

TAX RATE TAX RATE

STATE (¢ per pack) RANK STATE (¢ per pack) RANK

Alabama (a)         67.5 40 Nebraska  64 41

Alaska 200 13 Nevada              180 19

Arizona             200 13 New Hampshire 178 20

Arkansas 115 33 New Jersey 270 9

California (b)          87 37 New Mexico          166 23

Colorado 84 38 New York (a) 435 1

Connecticut     390 2 North Carolina 45 47

Delaware 160 24 North Dakota        44 48

Florida (c)        133.9 29 Ohio                160 24

Georgia             37 49 Oklahoma            103 35

Hawaii 320 5 Oregon 132 30

Idaho               57 45 Pennsylvania 260 10

Illinois (a)        198 18 Rhode Island        375 3

Indiana             99.5 36 South Carolina      57 45

Iowa                136 28 South Dakota        153 26

Kansas 129 31 Tennessee (a) (d) 62 42

Kentucky  60 43 Texas               141 27

Louisiana 108 34 Utah                170 21

Maine         200 13 Vermont             308 6

Maryland            200 13 Virginia (a) 30 50

Massachusetts       351 4 Washington       302.5 8

Michigan            200 13 West Virginia       120 32

Minnesota (e)  304 7 Wisconsin           252 11

Mississippi          68 39 Wyoming             60 43

Missouri (a)        17 51

Montana             170 21 Dist. of Columbia (f)  250 12

U. S. Median 153.0

Source: Compiled by FTA from state sources.

         

(a) Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of c igarettes:  in Alabama, 1¢ to 25¢; Illinois, 10¢ to $4.18;  

Missouri, 4¢ to 7¢; New York City, $1.50; Tennessee, 1¢; and Virginia, 2¢ to 15¢.

(b) California tax rate is scheduled to increase to $2.87 per pack on 4/1/17.

(c) Florida's rate includes a surcharge of $1 per pack.

(d) Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.05¢ in Tennessee. 

(e) In addition, Minnesota imposes an in lieu cigarette sales tax determined annually by the Department. 

     The current rate is 55.0¢ through December 31, 2017.

(f) In addition, District of Columbia imposes an in lieu cigarette sales tax calculated every March 31. The curent rate is 42¢.
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Appendix B – Other Tobacco Products Tax 

 

OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX

(January 1, 2017)

State       Tax Rate/Base (1) State       Tax Rate/Base (1)

Alabama (2) Minnesota (7) 95% Wholesale Price

  Cigars 3.0¢-40.5¢/ 10 cigars Mississippi 15% Manufacturer's Price

  Tobacco/Snuff 2¢-8¢/ ounce Missouri 10% Manufacturer's Price

Alaska 75% Wholesale Price Montana (4) 50% Wholesale Price

Arizona Nebraska (4) 20% Wholesale Price

  Cigars 22.01¢-$2.18/10 cigars Nevada 30% Wholesale Price

  Tobacco/Snuff 22.3¢/ounce New Hampshire 65.03% Wholesale Price

Arkansas 68% Manufacturer's Price New Jersey (4) 30% Wholesale Price

California (7)(8) 27.30% Wholesale Price New Mexico 25% Product value

Colorado 40% Manufacturer's Price New York (4) 75% Wholesale Price

Connecticut (4) 50% Wholesale Price North Carolina (7) 12.8% Wholesale Price

Delaware (4) 15% Wholesale Price North Dakota

Florida (5)   Cigars & Tobacco 28% Wholesale Price

   Tobacco/Snuff 85% Wholesale Price   Chew Tobacco & Snuff 16¢-60¢ /ounce

Georgia Ohio 17% Wholesale Price

  Little Cigars        2.5¢/10 cigars Oklahoma

  Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price   Cigars Little&Large $1.20/ 10 cigars

  Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price   Snuff&Tobacco   60%-80% Factory list price

Hawaii (6) Oregon (4) 65% Wholesale Price

  Large Cigars 50% Wholesale Price Pennslyvania (6)(7) $0.55 /ounce - tobacco

  Tobacco/Snuff 70% Wholesale Price Rhode Island 80% Wholesale Price

Idaho 40% Wholesale Price South Carolina 5% Manufacturer's Price

Illinois (4) 36% Wholesale Price South Dakota 35% Wholesale Price

Indiana 24% Wholesale Price Tennessee 6.6% Wholesale Price 

Iowa (6) 50% Wholesale Price Texas

Kansas (7) 10% Wholesale Price   Cigar 1.0¢-15.0¢ /10 cigars

Kentucky 15% Wholesale Price   Tobacco/Snuff $1.22 /ounce

Louisiana (7) Utah (4) (6) 86% Manufacturer's Price

  Cigars    8%-20% Manufacturer's Price Virginia (4) 10% Manufacturer's Price

  Snuff/Smoking Tobacco  20%-33% Manufacturer's Price Vermont (4) 92% Wholesale Price

Maine   Cigar $20-$40 /10 cigars

  Chewing Tob./Snuff         $2.02/ounce   Tobacco/Snuff $2.57 /ounce

  Smoking Tob./Cigars 20% Wholesale Price Washington (4) (6) 95% Wholesale Price

Maryland West Virginia 12% Wholesale Price

  Tobacco/Snuff 30% Wholesale Price Wisconsin 71% Manufacturer's Price

  Cigars 70% Wholesale Price Wyoming (4) 20% Wholesale Price

Massachusetts 40% Wholesale Price

Michigan 32% Wholesale Price Dist.of Columbia (3) (7) 65% Wholesale Price

Source:  Compi led by FTA from various  sources .

(1) The volume-based tax rates  were converted to cents  per 10 cigars  or per ounce for cons is tency.

(2) Alabama's  cigar tax rate ri ses  with the reta i l  price; the rate on smoking tobacco and snuff depends  on package weight.

(3) The Dis t. of Columbia  adjusts  the tax rate annual ly, effective October 1st each year.

(4) Tax rate on Snuff per ounce is  $1.00 in CT, 54¢ in DE, 30¢ in IL, 19¢ in KY, 85¢ in MT, 44¢ in NE, 75¢ in NJ, $2.00 in NY, $1.78 in OR,

      $1.83 in UT, 18¢ in VA, $2.57 in VT, $2.105 in WA and 60¢ in WY.

(5) Florida 's  rate includes  a  60% surtax.

(6) Li ttle cigars  are taxed as  cigarettes .

(7) Six s tates  apply tax to E-cigarette/Vapor Products . DC and MN apply genera l  OTP tax.  LA and NC appl ies  a  5 cent/mi l l i l i ter of vapor

      product. KS appl ies  a  $0.20/mi l l i l i ter tax. PA appl ies  a  40% tax on the wholesa le price. CA wi l l  apply OTP tax beginning 4/1/17.

(8) Propos i tion 56 wi l l  increase the OTP rate effective July 1, 2017. A rate that i s  equiva lent to cigarettes  wi l l  be determined.


