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          South Dakota Legislative Research Council

                 Issue Memorandum 95-30

JUVENILE DETENTION: REQUIREMENTS AND OPTIONS
FOR LOCAL AUTHORITIES

BACKGROUND

Juvenile detention is a difficult and unique
issue for corrections professionals. This is
especially true at the local levels, where
authorities are often faced with a shortage of
bed space.  Rising arrest rates for juveniles
have contributed to this crowding problem. 
The crowding problem is also affected by
mandates from both the federal and state
levels.  

Like adults, the incidence of serious--often
violent--crime committed by juveniles has
increased in recent years.  In 1992, juveniles
were responsible for 13 percent of all violent
crimes and 23 percent of all property crimes. 
Based on 1992 FBI clearance data, juveniles
were responsible for:
‚ 9 percent of murders
‚ 12 percent of aggravated assaults
‚ 14 percent of forcible rapes

‚ 16 percent of robberies
‚ 20 percent of burglaries
‚ 23 percent of larceny-thefts
‚ 24 percent of motor vehicle thefts
‚ 42 percent of arsons

How does South Dakota fit into all this? 
The following chart compares this state with
seven other states in this region.  It should be
noted that of the states shown, only
Wisconsin does not rank among the lowest
twelve states for violent juvenile crime. 
West Virginia, New Hampshire, Vermont,
Maine, and South Carolina, along with the
seven included in the following chart, have
the lowest violent crime index (VCI) arrests
per 100,000 juveniles ages 10-17.  The VCI
is dominated by arrests for two of the four
offenses listed--robbery and aggravated
assault.  In 1992, 93 percent of juvenile
Violent Crime Index arrests were for robbery
and aggravated assault.
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Arrests per 100,000 Juveniles Ages 10-17

State VCI Murder Forc.Rape Robbery Agg.Assault

Iowa 159 0 9 17 133

Minnesota 179 3 12 29 136

Montana 94 1 16 19 58

Nebraska 104 1 13 32 59

North Dakota 58 0 15 13 30

South Dakota 120 2 23 8 87

Wisconsin 376 16 21 149 190

Wyoming 82 2 10 5 65

Assuming both population growth and
continuing increases in arrest rates, the
number of juvenile violent crime arrests is
expected to double by 2010.  If current
trends continue, by the year 2010 the number
of arrests for murder is expected to increase
145 percent over the 1992 level.  The
increase in juvenile crime over the past 20
plus years is serious.  From 1972 to 1992,
the average age of the U.S. population
increased by three years; yet, the average age
for arrestees on murder and weapons law
violations was nearly three years younger. In
fact, between 1987 and 1992, the juvenile
arrest rate for weapons violations increased
75 percent.  These statistics suggest that not
only are juveniles frequently breaking the
law, but they are committing more serious
offenses.  
Policymakers at both the state and federal
levels have increased the severity of
punishments for violent or habitual juvenile
offenders.  Many states have also made it
easier for serious juvenile offenders to be
tried as adults.  Congress has authorized
standards that must be met when detaining
juveniles.  These standards frequently leave
local authorities with a predicament as to

where they can legally house a juvenile
offender, and the answers are often both
costly and frustrating.  

FEDERAL REQUIREMENTS

There are federal standards that must be met
for a state or other jurisdiction to be deemed
“in compliance.”  If a state is not in
compliance, federal funding can be withheld. 
This money usually goes to counties.  

South Dakota was one of the final states that
agreed to participate in the Juvenile Justice
and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974
(JJDPA).  This was done in 1992.  The
JJDPA is administered by the Office of
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
(OJJDP) in the United States Department of
Justice.  

Federal money was awarded to the SD
Department of Corrections to address five
federally mandated goals.  These include: 
(1) deinstitutionalization of status offenders--
A status offense is an act or conduct that is
illegal only when committed by a juvenile.
Examples of these violations include truancy,
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curfew violation, consumption of alcohol or
running away.  This mandate refers to a
policy of removing juvenile status offenders
from secure detention facilities to placement
within non-secure facilities such as group
homes (non-secure residential facilities for
adjudicated juveniles) and shelter care
facilities (temporary, non-secure, detention
facilities); (2) removal of juveniles from adult
jails; (3) separation of juveniles from adults
in secure facilities; (4) consideration of the
issue of over-representation of children of
color in the juvenile justice system; and (5)
development of a compliance monitoring
system.  

Each state must have a State Advisory
Group (SAG).  SAG members are appointed
by the Governor.  The South Dakota SAG
has been named the Juvenile Justice
Advisory Committee (JJAC).  

The South Dakota Department of
Corrections is required by OJJDP to:
(1)  Establish a method to identify and
monitor all residential facilities within the
State that might hold juveniles pursuant to
court authority;  
(2)  Classify these facilities as:

(a)  secure or non-secure--Non-
secure facilities provide a
nonphysically restricted environment,
whereas secure units have hardware
and fixtures that restrict the
offender’s movement and activities;
(b)  public or private;
(c)  adult or juvenile; and 
(d)  residential or non-residential--
Residential treatment centers are
facilities that provide temporary
housing for juveniles and attempt to
change their problem behaviors to
assist juveniles in adjusting to their
natural environment.  Non-residential
offer treatment, counseling and other
program options while allowing the

juvenile to continue living at home.  
(3)  Inspect all facilities to:

(a)  determine compliance with the
sight and sound mandate;
(b)  review program and staff
policies;
(c)  review records for necessary data
elements; and 
(d)  determine the security level;

(4)  Collect and verify data of juveniles held
in secure facilities;
(5)  Analyze data to determine compliance
with deinstitutionalization of status
offenders, sight and sound separation, and
jail removal;
(6)  Conduct recordkeeping by:

(a)  creating a compliance monitoring
manual;
(b)  completing the State Monitoring
Report annually; and 
(c)  reporting activities and
compliance status to the Juvenile
Justice Advisory Committee and
subcommittees. 

OJJDP officials are authorized to make
grants to states and units of local
government or combinations thereof to assist
in improving all programs in the area of
juvenile delinquency and programs to
improve the juvenile justice system.  These
grants are intended to provide technical
assistance to states, units of local
government, and local private agencies to
facilitate compliance with the JJDPA and
implementation of the state plan.  The federal
government determines an individual state’s
need based upon the population of “juveniles
at risk.”  The available funds are then divided
among eligible states based on a formula.  

In order to receive grants, a state must have
submitted a three-year plan to meet federal
mandates.  This plan may be amended
annually to adjust for any new programs and
activities subsequent to state participation. 
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The state must submit annual performance
reports to update the OJJDP on the status of
compliance with state plan requirements.  

If a state fails to comply with the federal
requirements in any fiscal year, the state’s
allotment for that fiscal year will be reduced
by 25 percent for each incident of
noncompliance.  In addition, the state will be
ineligible for any other allotments for that
fiscal year.  The state will be granted further
federal funding only if it agrees to expend the
federal assistance toward bringing the state
back into compliance.  

STATE REQUIREMENTS

South Dakota law provides authorities with
options for detaining offenders, both juvenile
and adult.  SDCL 26-7A-26, like the federal
requirements, forbids juveniles from being
held in the same facility as adult offenders. 
Juveniles may be held in an adult lockup or
jail for up to six hours “for purposes of
identification, processing, interrogation,
transfer to juvenile facility, or release to
parents if the delinquent child is separated by
sight and sound from adult prisoners.”  Sight
and sound separation requires that juvenile
and adult offenders be unable to see each
other and that no conversation is possible.
This requirement must at minimum be
accomplished in the areas which include
recreation, education, counseling, health
care, dining, sleeping and other living
activities.  This section also allows any
juvenile offender that has been transferred to
adult court to be held in an adult facility.  A
transfer is permitted, provided the offender is
at least fifteen years of age, and has
committed a “crime of violence” [SDCL 22-
1-2(9)] or of sexual contact under Section
22-22-7.  

Section 26-11-4 details the process for

transferring a juvenile to adult court. 
Amended in the 1994 session, this section
distinguishes what is necessary to transfer a
juvenile offender to adult court.  The latest
amendment also requires that any juvenile
offender transferred to adult court shall be
treated as an adult regarding any
“subsequent commission of any crime, petty
offense, or municipal ordinance violation.” 
Only if the offender was found not guilty of
the offense for which the original transfer
was ordered can the offender be handled in
juvenile court.  

Again, juvenile offenders can be held in an
adult jail for up to six hours provided certain
conditions are met.  The intake officer may
hold the child for up to 24 hours, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays and court holidays, “if
the parents, guardian, or custodian are not
available or are not suitable to receive the
child” and at least one of five circumstances
exist.  These include: 1) the child has failed
to comply with a court-ordered program; 2)
the child is found to be a parole or probation
violator, is a runaway, or is under court-
ordered detention in another jurisdiction; 3)
“the child has a demonstrated propensity to
run away from the child’s home” or from
agencies charged with providing temporary
care; 4) “the child is under court-ordered
home detention in this jurisdiction;” 5) “there
are specific, articulated circumstances which
justify the detention for the protection of the
child from potentially immediate harm to the
child or others. The shelter or detention
authorized shall be the least restrictive
alternative available.”  If the child is found to
be in violation of a valid court order and a
temporary custody hearing, pursuant to 26-
7A-14, is held within 24 hours of the child
being placed in a detention facility, the child
may be detained for more than 24 hours.  

Clearly, counties can use their adult facilities
to house juvenile offenders that are
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transferred to adult court.  Still, the majority
of juvenile offenders do not commit a crime
serious enough to warrant a transfer to adult
court.  Therefore, in most cases, local
authorities are faced with the task of finding
a holding facility for these offenders and
must do so within six hours.  

State law requires that counties be
responsible for temporary detention costs of
juvenile offenders (26-7A-25).  Counties
might determine that their caseload warrants
construction of a juvenile detention facility. 
For those that do arrive at this decision, they
must construct a facility that meets federal
requirements.  Many counties do not have
the resources to build such a facility,
however.  

OPTIONS FOR LOCAL AUTHORITIES

Multiple jurisdictions have the option of
joining together in constructing a facility. 
According to 24-11-4.1, “any combination of
counties or municipalities” may enter into an
agreement “for the creation of an area jail or
juvenile detention facility compact which
may be a separate legal entity.”  Such an
agreement would serve as a regional facility,
with all contracting parties responsible for
expenses.  In exchange, compact members
would be assured of having bedspace for
their offenders.  These group facilities could
still contract with non-compact counties.  

Jurisdictions that have a juvenile detention
center are also free to enter into contracts
with other jurisdictions that do not (26-7A-
23).  When two jurisdictions enter into an
agreement for housing offenders, the county
from which the offender was committed is
responsible for all expenses of keeping and
maintaining the prisoner (24-11-3).  Some
counties in the state, like Pennington, have
reached agreements with other jurisdictions
and provide detention for a daily fee. 

There are several other instances in the state
where entities agree to house offenders for a
daily fee.  Some of these are licensed group
care centers, others are private, for-profit,
facilities and still others are operated by
counties or municipalities.  Regardless, they
are all free to contract out their bed space.  

Some of the private facilities will, in fact,
contract with any client, regardless of
geography.  In other words, these facilities
will house juveniles from other states,
provided the offender’s home jurisdiction
pays the associated costs.  In addition, these
private facilities are not required to reserve
any beds for South Dakota residents. 
Usually, these facilities operate on a first-
come, first-served basis. 

Some states have attempted to utilize
existing bed space while pushing the limits of
what federal standards allow.  In Minnesota,
for instance, four conditions from the OJJDP
had to be met in order to use sections of
existing facilities for housing juveniles. 
Minnesota’s plan called for using portions of
existing detention facilities that currently
house adults for holding juveniles as well. 
The state was allowed to do this but had to
meet several conditions.  

First, the state’s local authorities had to meet
the requirement that juvenile offenders
would have total separation from adult
offenders in all spatial areas.  There could be
no haphazard or accidental contact between
juvenile and adult offenders.  The second
waiver required that all program activities be
separated and be held in segregated areas.  In
other words, all recreation, education,
counseling, health care, dining, sleeping and
general living activities must be held in
separate areas.  

Staff for juveniles and adults must also be
distinct.  This includes management, security
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staff and direct care staff such as recreation,
education, and counseling.  Specialized
services staff such as cooks, bookkeepers, or
medical professionals who are not normally
in contact with detainees, or whose
infrequent contacts occur under conditions
of separation between adults and juveniles,
can serve both.  

The final condition required that those
facilities housing juveniles must meet any
existing state licensing standards.  Once the
state feels that these four conditions are met,
officials can apply to the OJJDP and request
that the office concur that a “separate”
juvenile facility exists.  Sufficient
documentation must be provided with the
request to enable the office to determine that
each requirement is met.  

This arrangement would provide juvenile
detention space, and while less expensive
than new construction, the cost of meeting
the four requirements met by Minnesota
could still amount to a considerable expense. 
Additional staff would have to be hired and
trained, and likely some recreation and
education areas would have to added to the
existing facility.  If the county feels that there
is a wing, or segment, of their facility that
could be modified to meet these four
conditions, then this could be a viable
solution.  

Another option that is simple, but probably
not appealing to very many counties, is to
fall out of compliance with federal
regulations.  If a county falls out of
compliance, then they are free to conduct
their business any way they choose.  There
are several reasons that this path might make
local authorities somewhat apprehensive,
however.  

It is common for offenders to file lawsuits
for alleged mistreatment.  For counties that

are not in compliance with federal mandates,
the conditions that offenders are held under
could be treated with more skepticism by the
court system.  Because local detention
facilities would not be meeting any
commonly-accepted standards, the courts
might be less inclined to side with local
authorities.  

There is also the concern that an adult
offender might harm a juvenile in some way. 
Should an adult injure or harm a juvenile in
any way while housed in the same facility,
the local jurisdiction would face huge liability
issues.  While frivolous lawsuits are possible,
situations of this nature could inflict serious
damage upon a county’s finances.  

Another reason this route might not be the
most popular is funding, or the removal
thereof.  As already mentioned, the federal
government can withhold monies that could
be used in this area.  Recent figures place
this total at approximately $887,000 for
federal fiscal year 1996.  According to
Department of Corrections officials, if even
one county drops out of compliance the
entire federal appropriation would be
jeopardized.  In this age of ever-tightening
budgets, disregarding a potentially
substantial allocation in federal funding is a
difficult, and likely unacceptable, option.  

Areas used by local authorities to
temporarily house juveniles are referred to as
“holdover sites.”  Upgrading these holdover
sites are projects that frequently receive
federal funding from OJJDP.  Another area
where counties frequently receive federal
money is for reimbursement of transportation
expenses.  New construction is prohibited
under the JJDPA.  

All counties are eligible for federal support
of holdover services and reimbursement of
transportation expenses.  Starting October 1,
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1995, reimbursements will be done through a
voucher system.  Starting on this same date,
the 21 juvenile detention centers in South
Dakota will be offered contracts for holdover
services.  

Counties can apply on an individual basis for
assistance in prevention efforts and start-up
programs.  These two efforts can be similar,
but because funding comes from different
sources within the federal government,
different rules often apply.  Typically,
prevention efforts include various
delinquency prevention programs.  Start-up
programs include various diversion efforts,
after-school tutoring, crisis intervention,
home-based therapy, etc.  Applications are
handled by the Department of Corrections. 
Assistance is awarded on a contractual basis. 

In a field whose professionals frequently
confront difficult situations, one of the most
perplexing in corrections is juvenile

detention.  Faced with extensive regulation,
state and local governments must stay aware
of many governmental mandates. 
Compliance with these mandates often places
a jurisdiction in a difficult financial position
because daily detention fees can become a
serious burden to a county’s budget--
provided that an acceptable facility even has
an opening.  

Counties facing a shortage of bed space must
be careful when determining their juvenile
detention plans.  Some may find that
segregating a wing and hiring separate staff
like Minnesota may be the most cost-
efficient.  Another option might be for
several counties to form a cooperative effort
and build a regional detention center.  Falling
out-of-compliance is a gamble for any
jurisdiction given today’s litigious climate. 
Whatever route a jurisdiction may choose, it
would be well advised to be cognizant of all
regulations and the potential consequences
of their decisions. 

This issue memorandum was written by Chris Eitemiller, Fiscal Analyst for the
Legislative Research Council.  It is designed to supply background information on the
subject and is not a policy statement made by the Legislative Research Council.


