Committee Agenda

Committee:    House State Affairs
Room:    412
Date:    Friday, February 7, 2003
Time:    10:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HJR 1005      Proposing and submitting to the electors at the next general election amendments to Article XIV of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota to create a South Dakota university system under the control of the Board of Regents.
             Representative Williamson and Senator de Hueck

         HJR 1003     Proposing and submitting to the electors at the next general election an amendment to Article V, section 7 of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, providing for the merit selection of circuit court judges.
             Representatives Michels, Cradduck, Cutler, Engels, Frost, Garnos, Gillespie, Hanson, Hargens, Hennies, Hunhoff, Juhnke, Kroger, Lange, LaRue, Madsen, McCaulley, McCoy, Murschel, Nesselhuf, O'Brien, Olson (Mel), Pederson (Gordon), Peterson (Bill), Peterson (Jim), Rhoden, Rounds, Sebert, Solum, Teupel, Van Norman, and Wick and Senators Bogue, Abdallah, Albers, Brown, de Hueck, Dempster, Diedrich (Larry), Duniphan, Duxbury, Earley, Jaspers, Knudson, Koetzle, Kooistra, McCracken, Moore, Olson (Ed), Reedy, Sutton (Dan), Symens, and Vitter

         HJR 1002     Proposing and submitting to the electors at the next general election a new section to Article XI of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, relating to the imposition of a corporate income tax.
             Representatives Lange, Bradford, Burg, Gassman, Glenski, Hargens, Miles, Sigdestad, and Valandra and Senators Kooistra, Dennert, and Kloucek

         HB 1135     establish the jump start South Dakota subfund and to provide for its funding and disbursement.
             Representatives McCaulley and Williamson and Senator Abdallah

         HB 1229     authorize a South Dakota Statuary Commission.
             Representatives Smidt, Adelstein, Bartling, Burg, Cradduck, Gillespie, Heineman, Konold, Michels, Pederson (Gordon), Peterson (Bill), Sebert, Solum, and Wick and Senators Jaspers, Abdallah, Brown, Dempster, Dennert, Diedrich (Larry), Duenwald, Duniphan, Ham, Kleven, Knudson, and Vitter

         HB 1266     allow public contracts and bids to be awarded to any responsible bidder.
             Representative Garnos

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         HB 1079     revise certain eligibility restrictions related to secondary school extracurricular activities.
             Representatives Murschel, Buckingham, Burg, Cradduck, Cutler, Dykstra, Elliott, Hackl, Haverly, Hennies, Kroger, LaRue, McCoy, O'Brien, Olson (Mel), Peterson (Jim), Rhoden, Schafer, and Solum and Senators Abdallah, Dempster, Koetzle, Kooistra, McCracken, Moore, Reedy, Sutton (Dan), and Symens