Add Notes


Introduced by:     Senators Earley, Abdallah, Adelstein, Apa, Bartling, Bogue, Broderick, Dempster, Duenwald, Gant, Gray, Greenfield, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Kelly, Kloucek, Knudson, Koetzle, Kooistra, Koskan, Lintz, McCracken, McNenny, Moore, Napoli, Nesselhuf, Olson (Ed), Peterson (Jim), Schoenbeck, Smidt, Sutton (Dan), Sutton (Duane), and Two Bulls  

         A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION,  Commending and honoring the 2004 Habitat for Humanity_South Dakota "Habitat Supporters of the Year": First United Methodist Church, Huron, Beadle County Habitat for Humanity; Marlene Tobias, Rapid City, Black Hills Area Habitat for Humanity; Larson Manufacturing, Brookings, Brookings Area Habitat for Humanity; Terry Quilt, Fort Thompson, Dacotah Tipis Habitat for Humanity; Scott Parsley, Madison, East Central South Dakota Habitat for Humanity; Gary Lane, Sioux Falls, Greater Sioux Falls Habitat for Humanity; Wells Fargo Bank, Aberdeen, Hub Area Habitat for Humanity; Delmer Maeschen, Mitchell Region Habitat for Humanity; Reverend Howard Grinager and Paul Forney, Oahe Habitat for Humanity; State Bank of Eagle Butte, Okiciyapi Tipi Habitat for Humanity; Wells Fargo Bank, Mission, Sicangu Tikaga Okiciyapi Habitat for Humanity; Wells Fargo Bank, Watertown, Watertown Region Habitat for Humanity; Father Ben Tyon, Pine Ridge, Woihanble Yuwita Habitat for Humanity; Dr. Kenneth Halverson, Habitat for Humanity of Yankton County; and Holly Myers, Habitat for Humanity Midwest Resource Center.

     WHEREAS,  Habitat for Humanity_South Dakota recently celebrated the hard work and volunteerism of the fourteen local Habitat for Humanity affiliates throughout South Dakota by recognizing the work of the Habitat Supporters of the Year at the second "Building Dreams Celebration"; and

     WHEREAS,  Habitat for Humanity throughout South Dakota has now achieved another milestone in the construction of the 217th home in South Dakota, which represents a labor of volunteerism and generosity of countless volunteers, as well as considerable sweat equity of the homeowner families; and

     WHEREAS,  it is fitting and proper that the South Dakota Legislature acknowledge the unselfish work of these Habitat Supporters of the Year toward the goal of affordable housing and elimination of poverty housing in South Dakota:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED,  by the Eightieth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, First United Methodist Church (Huron), Marlene Tobias, Larson Manufacturing (Brookings), Terry Quilt, Scott Parsley, Gary Lane,Wells Fargo Bank (Aberdeen, Mission, Watertown), Delmer Maeschen, Reverend Howard Grinager, Paul Forney, State Bank of Eagle Butte, Father Ben Tyon, Dr. Kenneth Halverson, and Holly Myers have achieved the distinction of being selected as Habitat for Humanity Supporters of the Year for 2004.