Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Education
Room:     423
Date:    Tuesday, February 1, 2005
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

CONFIRM:    Reappointment of Tonnis H. Venhuizen, Douglas County, Armour, South Dakota, to the State Board of Regents.

CONFIRM:    Reappointment of Kelly J. Duncan, Union County, Dakota Dunes, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Board of Education.

CONFIRM:    Appointment of Terry Baloun, Faulk County, Highmore, South Dakota, to the State Board of Regents.

         SB 118     appropriate money for enhancement of secondary career and technical education.
             Senators Smidt, Bartling, Hanson (Gary), Kelly, Koetzle, and Lintz and Representatives Dennert, Garnos, Glenski, Koistinen, Lange, McLaughlin, Murschel, O'Brien, Roberts, Tidemann, and Turbiville

         SB 101     establish the opening day of the school term.
             Senators Kloucek and Napoli and Representatives Jensen, Fryslie, and Kroger

         SB 102     appropriate money for secondary career and technical education.
             Senators Kloucek, Hanson (Gary), and Peterson (Jim) and Representatives Lange, Bradford, Gassman, Haley, Hargens, Kroger, McCoy, and Sigdestad

         SB 106     revise the restrictions of transfers from bond redemption funds.
             Senator Schoenbeck and Representatives Faehn, Brunner, Halverson, Koistinen, Krebs, Nelson, Sebert, and Willadsen

         SB 116     revise certain provisions relating to the Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Scholarship Program.
             Senators Two Bulls, Apa, Dempster, and Olson (Ed) and Representatives Buckingham, Bradford, Dykstra, and Jensen

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.