Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Education
Room:     423
Date:    Thursday, February 3, 2005
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

CONFIRM:    Reappointment of Harvey C. Jewett, Brown County, Aberdeen, South Dakota, to the State Board of Regents

CONFIRM:    Appoint Clint Waara, Minnehaha County, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Board of Education

CONFIRM:    Appointment of Barbara Everist, Minnehaha County, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Board of Education

         SB 125     exempt transfers of funds from certain municipal revenue producing ventures from the calculation of the general fund balance of school districts.
             Senators Bogue, Dempster, and Olson (Ed) and Representatives Rhoden, Dykstra, and Hackl

         SB 166     provide that health education be factual, medically accurate, and objective.
             Senators Adelstein, Knudson, Kooistra, Nesselhuf, and Two Bulls and Representatives Murschel, Bradford, Elliott, Halverson, Hanks, McLaughlin, and Thompson

         SB 184     make an appropriation to the Department of Education to assist certain school districts with capital improvement needs.
             Senators Bogue, Bartling, and Koskan and Representatives Deadrick, Dennert, and Klaudt

         HB 1067     revise the property tax levies for the general fund of a school district.
             Representatives Rhoden and Hargens and Senators Bogue and Moore

         HB 1081     allow a school district to maintain permanent school records electronically rather than on microfilm.
             Representatives Murschel, Brunner, Cutler, Elliott, Heineman, Hills, Jensen, Kraus, Krebs, McLaughlin, Miles, Novstrup, Roberts, Thompson, Tornow, Turbiville, Weems, and Wick and Senators Kelly, Broderick, Earley, Gray, Koetzle, Koskan, Moore, Olson (Ed), and Schoenbeck

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         SB 118     appropriate money for enhancement of secondary career and technical education.
             Senators Smidt, Bartling, Hanson (Gary), Kelly, Koetzle, and Lintz and Representatives Dennert, Garnos, Glenski, Koistinen, Lange, McLaughlin, Murschel, O'Brien, Roberts, Tidemann, and Turbiville

         SB 102     appropriate money for secondary career and technical education.
             Senators Kloucek, Hanson (Gary), and Peterson (Jim) and Representatives Lange, Bradford, Gassman, Haley, Hargens, Kroger, McCoy, and Sigdestad