Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Health and Human Services
Room:     423
Date:    Monday, February 7, 2005
Time:    10:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1011*     make certain provisions for a program of recoveries and fraud investigations in the Department of Social Services.
             The Committee on Judiciary at the request of the Department of Social Services

         HB 1012*     establish certain penalties for the unauthorized acquisition or transfer of food stamp benefits.
             The Committee on Judiciary at the request of the Department of Social Services

         HB 1133     authorize additional persons to serve mental illness commitment papers.
             Representatives Miles, Boomgarden, Dykstra, Elliott, Frost, Glenski, Hackl, Hargens, Hunt, Kraus, McCoy, Michels, Rave, Rhoden, Schafer, Sigdestad, Street, Thompson, Weems, and Wick and Senators Dempster, Bartling, Duenwald, Duniphan, Greenfield, Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Kloucek, Knudson, Koetzle, Kooistra, McCracken, Nesselhuf, and Peterson (Jim)

         HB 1162     revise certain provisions relating to cardiopulmonary resuscitation directives.
             Representatives Rave, Boomgarden, Buckingham, Cutler, Davis, Deadrick, Faehn, Frost, Jensen, Kraus, McLaughlin, Miles, Murschel, Nelson, Olson (Ryan), Schafer, Tornow, Van Etten, and Willadsen and Senators Lintz, Knudson, Kooistra, Olson (Ed), Schoenbeck, Smidt, Sutton (Dan), and Sutton (Duane)

         HB 1196     establish a vaccination program for first responders.
             Representatives Rave, Davis, Dykstra, Faehn, Gillespie, Hargens, Heineman, Jensen, Jerke, Miles, Murschel, Nelson, Roberts, and Schafer and Senators Dempster, Greenfield, Kooistra, Lintz, McNenny, Moore, Olson (Ed), Peterson (Jim), and Sutton (Dan)

         SB 132     provide for and to regulate the practice of independent midwifery.
             Senators Kooistra and Koskan and Representatives Lange, Bradford, and Kroger

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         SB 168     ensure appropriate emergency health care for certain rape survivors and to require health care facilities and the Department of Health to provide information to certain rape survivors.
             Senators Adelstein, Broderick, Knudson, Nesselhuf, and Two Bulls and Representatives Murschel, Bradford, Elliott, Halverson, Thompson, Valandra, and Van Norman