Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Local Government
Room:     423
Date:    Monday, January 31, 2005
Time:    8:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         SB 99     permit financial institutions to prepay future tax liabilities.
             Senators Bogue, Broderick, and Knudson and Representatives Cutler, Deadrick, and Klaudt

         SB 105     revise the procedure for disposing certain surplus property.
             Senators Dempster, Bartling, and Broderick and Representatives Rounds, Hennies, and Street

         SB 111     provide for the effective date of municipal and county administrative decisions.
             Senators Dempster, Duenwald, Duniphan, and Two Bulls and Representatives Cutler, Davis, Hackl, and Kroger

         SB 120     revise certain requirements related to the identification of voters.
             Senators Adelstein, Bartling, Dempster, Koetzle, and Two Bulls and Representatives McCoy, Bradford, Pederson (Gordon), Valandra, and Van Norman

         SB 134     revise the dates for holding certain elections and filing certain nominating petitions.
             Senators Gant, Adelstein, Broderick, Gray, Kooistra, Lintz, McNenny, and Two Bulls and Representatives Willadsen, Dennert, Elliott, Faehn, Garnos, Hennies, Koistinen, Krebs, Roberts, and Street

         SB 136     provide a procedure for awarding construction project contracts if no bids are received during a competitive bid process.
             Senator Lintz and Representatives Pederson (Gordon) and Howie

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         SB 73     revise the power of rural fire protection districts to contract with certain entities.
             Senators Lintz, McNenny, and Napoli and Representatives Pederson (Gordon), Brunner, Howie, and McCoy