Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Transportation
Room:     413
Date:    Tuesday, February 1, 2005
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

CONFIRM:     Reappointment of George Nikolas, Brown County, Aberdeen, South Dakota , to the South Dakota Railroad Authority

CONFIRM:    Reappointment of Jerry Prostrollo, Lake County, Madison, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Railroad Authority    

CONFIRM:     Reappointment of Dennis Yeaton, Brule County, Chamberlain, South Dakota, to the South Dakota Railroad Authority

         SB 129     prohibit the display of social security numbers on driver licenses or nondriver identification cards.
             Senators McCracken, Abdallah, Bartling, Bogue, Broderick, Dempster, Kelly, Knudson, Lintz, McNenny, Moore, Peterson (Jim), Schoenbeck, and Sutton (Dan) and Representatives Krebs, Cutler, Dennert, Frost, Haley, Hunhoff, Miles, Rounds, and Weems

         HB 1023     repeal certain provisions regarding the required labeling of motor vehicle window film or glaze.
             The Committee on Transportation at the request of the Department of Public Safety

         SB 90     revise the factors to be considered in designating the state trunk highway system and to add a section of highway located in Turner County and McCook County to the state trunk highway system consistent with such factors.
             Senators Kooistra, Kloucek, and Nesselhuf and Representatives Boomgarden, Jerke, Kroger, Putnam, Rave, and Schafer

         SB 92     define a recreation vehicle, to exempt certain recreation vehicles from the maximum width restrictions for a vehicle, and to provide a length limitation for motor homes.
             Senators Broderick, Dempster, Koetzle, McCracken, Moore, and Napoli and Representatives Pederson (Gordon), Elliott, Kroger, McCoy, Thompson, and Willadsen

         SB 103     authorize the funding of public transportation from the state highway fund.
             Senators Broderick, Gray, Moore, Nesselhuf, and Sutton (Duane) and Representatives Fryslie, Faehn, Haley, Pederson (Gordon), Rounds, and Willadsen

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.