Committee Agenda

Committee:    House Education
Room:     412
Date:    Thursday, February 2, 2006
Time:    10:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1217     provide for the clarification of sexual abstinence instruction and to condition the acceptance of federal funding contrary to the provisions of this Act.
             Representatives Hunt, Brunner, Davis, Deadrick, Dykstra, Glenski, Hackl, Heineman, Howie, Hunhoff, Jensen, Jerke, Koistinen, Kraus, Krebs, Lange, McCoy, Michels, Miles, Novstrup, Olson (Ryan), Peters, Rausch, Rave, Rhoden, Rounds, Tornow, Turbiville, Van Etten, Weems, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators Bartling, Duenwald, Earley, Greenfield, Kelly, Kloucek, Koskan, Lintz, Napoli, and Schoenbeck

         HB 1194     prohibit the distribution of contraceptives to public school students, to prohibit public school employees from referring public school students to abortion or family planning services, and to provide penalties therefor.
             Representatives Weems, Brunner, Davis, Deadrick, Dykstra, Faehn, Frost, Fryslie, Gassman, Gillespie, Glenski, Hargens, Heineman, Howie, Hunt, Jensen, Jerke, Klaudt, Kraus, Krebs, Lange, McCoy, Miles, Novstrup, Olson (Ryan), Pederson (Gordon), Rausch, Rave, Rhoden, Rounds, Schafer, Sebert, Tornow, Van Etten, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators Greenfield, Abdallah, Apa, Bartling, Bogue, Broderick, Duenwald, Earley, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Kelly, Kloucek, Koskan, Lintz, McNenny, Moore, Napoli, and Schoenbeck

         HB 1182     allow school districts to expend from the capital outlay fund for some of their mileage reimbursement costs.
             Representatives Jerke, Boomgarden, Brunner, Davis, Deadrick, Dykstra, Fryslie, Glover, Hackl, Hills, Howie, Hunhoff, Jensen, Koistinen, Nelson, Novstrup, Olson (Ryan), Pederson (Gordon), Putnam, Rausch, Rhoden, Rounds, Tidemann, Tornow, and Vehle and Senators Lintz, Bartling, Duenwald, Hansen (Tom), Koskan, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1213     provide for the compensation of school districts that experience significant gains in enrollment from one year to the next.
             Representatives Dennert, Gillespie, Haley, Halverson, Hargens, Rausch, Tidemann, and Wick and Senator Hundstad

         HB 1168     revise the method for imposing the excess levy for the general fund of school districts.
             Representatives Dennert, Gassman, Halverson, Lange, and Sigdestad and Senators Duenwald, Bartling, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Kloucek, Koetzle, Moore, Nesselhuf, Peterson (Jim), Sutton (Dan), and Two Bulls

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.