Committee Agenda
Committee:    House Taxation
Room:     412
Date:    Thursday, February 2, 2006
Time:     7:30 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1229     revise the classification of certain real property used for residential purposes.
             Representatives Novstrup, Cutler, Dennert, Elliott, Jensen, McLaughlin, and Weems and Senators Gray and Greenfield

         HB 1232     revise certain provisions concerning the freeze on property assessments for disabled and senior citizens.
             Representatives Roberts, Bradford, Dennert, Elliott, Gassman, Glenski, Glover, Haley, Halverson, Lange, Miles, Sigdestad, Street, Thompson, and Van Norman and Senators Koetzle, Bartling, Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Nesselhuf, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1129     exempt certain facilities used for business incubators from property taxation.
             Representatives Peters, Dykstra, Hackl, Haverly, Heineman, Hunhoff, O'Brien, Putnam, Rausch, Rave, Rhoden, Rounds, Schafer, Tidemann, Vehle, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators McCracken, Bogue, Dempster, Duniphan, Earley, Gant, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Kelly, Kooistra, Olson (Ed), and Smidt

         HB 1128     increase the rate of taxation that municipalities may impose on certain goods and services.
             Representatives Turbiville, Cutler, Deadrick, Elliott, Faehn, Frost, Gassman, Glenski, Haley, Halverson, Heineman, Hennies, Hills, Howie, Hunt, Jensen, Kraus, Krebs, Kroger, Lange, McCoy, McLaughlin, Miles, Murschel, O'Brien, Olson (Ryan), Pederson (Gordon), Rausch, Roberts, Rounds, Schafer, Sebert, Sigdestad, Street, Thompson, Tidemann, Valandra, Van Etten, Vehle, Weems, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators Hansen (Tom), Abdallah, Adelstein, Bartling, Dempster, Duniphan, Gray, Kelly, Knudson, Lintz, McCracken, Nesselhuf, Olson (Ed), Schoenbeck, Smidt, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1167     create a tax relief fund and to dedicate certain sales and use tax revenue received by the state through the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.
             Representatives Wick, Boomgarden, Buckingham, Cutler, Deadrick, Dykstra, Faehn, Frost, Garnos, Glover, Hackl, Halverson, Heineman, Hennies, Hills, Hunhoff, Hunt, Jensen, Klaudt, Koistinen, Kraus, Krebs, Lange, McCoy, McLaughlin, Michels, Murschel, Nelson, Novstrup, Pederson (Gordon), Putnam, Rausch, Rave, Rhoden, Rounds, Schafer, Sebert, Street, Tidemann, Turbiville, Van Etten, Vehle, Weems, and Willadsen and Senators Knudson, Apa, Bogue, Broderick, Duenwald, Earley, Gray, Kelly, Koskan, Lintz, McNenny, Peterson (Jim), Smidt, and Sutton (Dan)

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.

HB1069 will be 1st on the agenda
         HB 1069     establish procedures for the forfeiture of money paid by a purchaser of a tax certificate who fails to pay the subsequent taxes.
             Representatives Dykstra and Rounds and Senators Napoli, Bartling, and Gray
HB1154 will be 2nd on the agenda
         HB 1154     impose an excise tax on the gross receipts from the sale and use of farm machinery, farm attachment units, and irrigation equipment and to exempt the gross receipts from the sale of farm machinery, farm attachment units, and irrigation equipment from sales and use tax.
             Representatives Dykstra, Dennert, Faehn, Fryslie, Haley, Halverson, Hargens, Jensen, McCoy, Miles, Novstrup, Rhoden, Sigdestad, and Street and Senators Peterson (Jim), Bartling, Duenwald, Gant, Gray, Greenfield, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Koskan, Lintz, McNenny, Olson (Ed), Smidt, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1110     provide compensation to certain retailers for collecting and remitting the sales tax.
             Representatives Krebs, Boomgarden, Faehn, Frost, Garnos, Hargens, Haverly, Koistinen, Kroger, Miles, Peters, Sebert, and Willadsen and Senators Greenfield, Apa, Duniphan, Gray, Hansen (Tom), McCracken, Olson (Ed), Peterson (Jim), Sutton (Dan), and Sutton (Duane)

HAL G. WICK, Chair