Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Education
Room:     423
Date:    Tuesday, February 14, 2006
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1217*     provide for the clarification of sexual abstinence instruction.
             Representatives Hunt, Brunner, Davis, Deadrick, Dykstra, Glenski, Hackl, Heineman, Howie, Hunhoff, Jensen, Jerke, Koistinen, Kraus, Krebs, Lange, McCoy, Michels, Miles, Novstrup, Olson (Ryan), Peters, Rausch, Rave, Rhoden, Rounds, Tornow, Turbiville, Van Etten, Weems, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators Bartling, Duenwald, Earley, Greenfield, Kelly, Kloucek, Koskan, Lintz, Napoli, and Schoenbeck

         HB 1060     revise the property tax levies for the general fund and the special education tax levy of a school district.
             Representatives Rhoden and Hargens and Senators Bogue and Moore

         HB 1157*     extend opportunity scholarship eligibility to South Dakota students who attend college or technical school out-of-state and then return to South Dakota to attend school.
             Representatives Olson (Ryan), Boomgarden, Bradford, Buckingham, Davis, Elliott, Fryslie, Gassman, Gillespie, Glenski, Glover, Haley, Halverson, Hanks, Hargens, Hennies, Jerke, Kroger, Lange, McLaughlin, Miles, Nelson, Novstrup, O'Brien, Roberts, Sigdestad, Street, Thompson, Valandra, and Van Norman and Senators Adelstein, Broderick, Duenwald, Kloucek, Kooistra, Moore, Nesselhuf, Olson (Ed), Peterson (Jim), Sutton (Dan), and Two Bulls

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.