Committee Agenda

Committee:    Senate Taxation
Room:     413
Date:    Friday, February 17, 2006
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1081*     exempt from the sales and use taxes certain maintenance items used on agricultural machinery and equipment and to declare an emergency.
             Representatives Dykstra, Cutler, Frost, Fryslie, Garnos, Glover, Hackl, Howie, Olson (Ryan), Rausch, Sigdestad, Street, Van Etten, and Weems and Senators Peterson (Jim), Bartling, Duniphan, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Koskan, Lintz, McCracken, McNenny, Olson (Ed), and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1154*     impose an excise tax on the gross receipts from the sale and use of farm machinery, farm attachment units, and irrigation equipment, to exempt the gross receipts from the sale of farm machinery, farm attachment units, and irrigation equipment from sales and use tax, and to declare an emergency.
             Representatives Dykstra, Dennert, Faehn, Fryslie, Haley, Halverson, Hargens, Jensen, McCoy, Miles, Novstrup, Rhoden, Sigdestad, and Street and Senators Peterson (Jim), Bartling, Duenwald, Gant, Gray, Greenfield, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Koskan, Lintz, McNenny, Olson (Ed), Smidt, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1129*     exempt certain facilities used for business incubators from property taxation.
             Representatives Peters, Dykstra, Hackl, Haverly, Heineman, Hunhoff, O'Brien, Putnam, Rausch, Rave, Rhoden, Rounds, Schafer, Tidemann, Vehle, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators McCracken, Bogue, Dempster, Duniphan, Earley, Gant, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Kelly, Kooistra, Olson (Ed), and Smidt

         HB 1167*     create a tax relief fund and to dedicate certain sales and use tax revenue received by the state through the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.
             Representatives Wick, Boomgarden, Buckingham, Cutler, Deadrick, Dykstra, Faehn, Frost, Garnos, Glover, Hackl, Halverson, Heineman, Hennies, Hills, Hunhoff, Hunt, Jensen, Klaudt, Koistinen, Kraus, Krebs, Lange, McCoy, McLaughlin, Michels, Murschel, Nelson, Novstrup, Pederson (Gordon), Putnam, Rausch, Rave, Rhoden, Rounds, Schafer, Sebert, Street, Tidemann, Turbiville, Van Etten, Vehle, Weems, and Willadsen and Senators Knudson, Apa, Bogue, Broderick, Duenwald, Earley, Gray, Kelly, Koskan, Lintz, McNenny, Peterson (Jim), Smidt, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1128*     increase the rate of taxation that municipalities may impose on certain goods and services.
             Representatives Turbiville, Cutler, Deadrick, Elliott, Faehn, Frost, Gassman, Glenski, Haley, Halverson, Heineman, Hennies, Hills, Howie, Hunt, Jensen, Kraus, Krebs, Kroger, Lange, McCoy, McLaughlin, Miles, Murschel, O'Brien, Olson (Ryan), Pederson (Gordon), Rausch, Roberts, Rounds, Schafer, Sebert, Sigdestad, Street, Thompson, Tidemann, Valandra, Van Etten, Vehle, Weems, Wick, and Willadsen and Senators Hansen (Tom), Abdallah, Adelstein, Bartling, Dempster, Duniphan, Gray, Kelly, Knudson, Lintz, McCracken, Nesselhuf, Olson (Ed), Schoenbeck, Smidt, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1232*     revise certain provisions concerning the freeze on property assessments for disabled and senior citizens.
             Representatives Roberts, Bradford, Dennert, Elliott, Gassman, Glenski, Glover, Haley, Halverson, Lange, Miles, Sigdestad, Street, Thompson, and Van Norman and Senators Koetzle, Bartling, Hanson (Gary), Hundstad, Nesselhuf, and Sutton (Dan)

         HB 1098     exempt swine and cattle semen from sales use tax.
             Representatives Jensen, Boomgarden, Davis, Dykstra, Haley, Hargens, Olson (Ryan), and Weems and Senators McNenny, Gant, Lintz, Nesselhuf, and Peterson (Jim)

         HB 1009*     create additional classifications of agricultural property and to revise certain provisions concerning the taxation of certain agricultural property.
             Representatives Rhoden, Glover, Hargens, Howie, Jensen, McCoy, Murschel, and Turbiville and Senators McNenny, Hundstad, Lintz, and Peterson (Jim) at the request of the Interim Committee on Classifications of Real Property Study Committee

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.