State of South Dakota  


Introduced by:     Representatives Bradford, DeVries, and Vanneman and Senators Bartling, Garnos, and Two Bulls  

         A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION,  Commending the 2006 Todd County High School Cross Country Team for winning the combined state title in the Class A State Cross Country Meet.

     WHEREAS,  the members of the 2006 Todd County High School Boys' and Girls' Cross Country Teams worked and trained hard all season long, in good weather and in bad, and showed marked improvement, both academically and athletically, throughout the cross country season; and

     WHEREAS,  the boys finished as runner-up as a team with a team score that tied the first place team at the Class A State Cross Country Meet and the girls finished third as a team, resulting in a combined state title for Todd County; and

     WHEREAS,  this title was achieved by the teamwork of all the athletes: Steve Antoine, Julie Bernie, LaBradford Bordeaux, Trevor Covey, Max Grimshaw, Emmy Her Many Horses, Kyla Marshall, Morgana Running, Wes Running, Josie Stone, Arna Two Hawk, Mark Whirlwind Soldier, and Kylie Wilson; and

     WHEREAS,  the teams had excellent instruction from coaches Larry Lucas and Tonya Whirlwind Soldier:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED,  by the Eighty-second Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Todd County High School Cross Country Team and its coaching staff be congratulated and commended on their successful 2006 cross country season.