Committee Agenda

Committee:    House Judiciary
Room:     464
Date:    Friday, February 9, 2007
Time:    7:30 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1132     increase the maximum penalty that counties and municipalities may establish for a violation of an ordinance.
             Representatives Ahlers and Burg and Senators Koetzle, Hoerth, and Jerstad

         HB 1200     provide for a crime of domestic disorderly conduct and to provide a penalty therefor.
             Representatives Cutler, Gilson, Hargens, Lucas, Miles, Moore, Novstrup (David), Nygaard, Peters, Street, and Vehle and Senators Albers, Abdallah, Gray, Jerstad, and Koetzle

         HB 1203     restrict the use of garnishment to collect stale judgments.
             Representatives Gillespie and Dykstra and Senator Albers

         HB 1222     clarify certain provisions relating to petitions for protection orders.
             Representatives Gillespie, Dykstra, Engels, and Rave and Senators Albers and Heidepriem

         HB 1252     provide certain provisions concerning the indemnification of the directors of rural electric cooperatives.
             Representatives Gillespie, Burg, Dykstra, Halverson, Hargens, Hunt, Juhnke, Peters, Street, Vanneman, and Willadsen and Senators Koetzle, Duenwald, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), McCracken, McNenny, Olson (Ed), and Peterson (Jim)

         HB 1254     establish the elements of the crime of masturbating or ejaculating in the presence of a child and to provide a penalty therefor.
             Representatives Gillespie, Cutler, Dykstra, and Rave and Senators Albers, Bartling, Gant, Jerstad, and Smidt (Orville)

         HB 1288     permit trustees to decant a trust under certain circumstances.
             Representatives Cutler, Dykstra, Feinstein, Krebs, Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Olson (Ryan), Peters, and Rave and Senators Gray, Abdallah, Dempster, Gant, Knudson, and Peterson (Jim)

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         HB 1231     exempt certain wages from claims in bankruptcy.
             Representatives Cutler, Engels, Feinstein, Gillespie, Halverson, Krebs, and Lust and Senators Knudson and Turbak

         HB 1298     create the South Dakota Reservation Youth Resource Commission.
             Representatives Lucas, Bradford, Engels, Feinstein, Thompson, and Van Norman and Senators Bartling, Katus, Kloucek, Maher, and Two Bulls