Committee Agenda

Committee:    House Transportation
Room:     464
Date:    Thursday, February 1, 2007
Time:    8:00 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         HB 1174     increase the maximum amount for which used motor vehicles may be sold or transferred to be exempt from excise tax.
             Representatives Cutler, Bradford, Glenski, Hanks, Kirkeby, McLaughlin, Miles, Rave, and Van Norman and Senators Dempster, Albers, Koetzle, McCracken, and Nesselhuf

         HB 1183     revise certain provisions regarding the use of a transporter license plate.
             Representatives Peters, Ahlers, Dennert, Elliott, Engels, Hackl, Hargens, Hunt, Juhnke, Moore, Novstrup (Al), Pederson (Gordon), Rhoden, Sigdestad, Street, Turbiville, and Weems and Senators Napoli, Bartling, Dempster, Duenwald, Garnos, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Hauge, Hundstad, Kloucek, Koetzle, and Turbak

         HB 1197     allow the Department of Public Safety to regulate installers of manufactured homes and to allow the department to establish an installation inspection program.
             Representatives Rounds, Faehn, Halverson, Hunt, Juhnke, Krebs, Noem, Pederson (Gordon), Peters, Street, Vanneman, and Willadsen and Senators Abdallah, Bartling, Dempster, Gant, Garnos, Gray, Hauge, Hoerth, Jerstad, Koetzle, McCracken, Peterson (Jim), and Turbak

         HB 1234     adjust the period of time requiring the use of lighted front and real lamps on motor vehicles.
             Representatives Novstrup (Al), Dennert, Elliott, McLaughlin, and Thompson and Senators Greenfield and Hoerth

         HCR 1003     To request the Department of Transportation to help promote and help direct travelers to the Oyate Trail.
             Representatives Lucas, Boomgarden, Bradford, DeVries, Gilson, Howie, Jerke, Juhnke, Moore, Nygaard, Pederson (Gordon), Putnam, and Vanneman and Senators Bartling, Garnos, Hunhoff, Katus, Kloucek, Lintz, Nesselhuf, and Two Bulls

         SB 72     revise certain provisions regarding the liens on vehicles for the costs of removal and storage of the vehicles.
             Senators Napoli, Abdallah, Duenwald, Gant, Garnos, Hanson (Gary), Katus, Kloucek, Knudson, McCracken, Schmidt, and Sutton and Representatives Hackl, Engels, Hanks, Haverly, Hills, Kirkeby, Krebs, McLaughlin, Pederson (Gordon), and Peters

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.


         HB 1135     adopt the Multistate Highway Transportation Agreement and to provide for its funding.
             Representatives Pederson (Gordon), Burg, Dennert, Elliott, Juhnke, Rounds, and Turbiville and Senators Garnos, Bartling, Gant, Hanson (Gary), Kloucek, McCracken, Napoli, and Sutton