Committee Agenda
Committee:    Senate State Affairs
Room:     412
Date:    Monday, January 29, 2007
Time:    7:45 AM

Individuals needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) 48 hours before convening to make any necessary arrangements.

         SB 25     revise certain requirements regarding the ability of the Public Utilities Commission to regulate the sale or other disposition of the property, plant, business, or stock of electric or gas public utilities.
             The Committee on State Affairs at the request of the Public Utilities Commission

         SB 118     permit the Public Utilities Commission to approve tariff mechanisms for the automatic annual adjustment of charges for jurisdictional costs of new environmental measures.
             Senators McCracken, Dempster, Duenwald, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Olson (Ed), and Peterson (Jim) and Representatives Dykstra, Burg, Cutler, Dreyer, Faehn, Glenski, Halverson, Hargens, Juhnke, Miles, Rausch, Rave, Street, Tidemann, and Willadsen

         SB 161     repeal the death penalty and commute certain death sentences to life imprisonment.
             Senators Jerstad, Bartling, Katus, Kloucek, Koetzle, and Nesselhuf and Representatives Thompson, Burg, Elliott, Glenski, and Lucas

         SB 122     revise the provisions for maintaining recognition as a political party.
             Senators Kloucek and Katus and Representative Lucas

         SB 137     prohibit certain forms of compensation for persons circulating petitions.
             Senator Kloucek and Representatives Gassman and Juhnke

         SB 169     provide for the formation of permanent legislative ethics committees and to provide for the adoption of legislative codes of ethics.
             Senators Heidepriem, Bartling, Dempster, Garnos, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Hanson (Gary), Hoerth, Hunhoff, Jerstad, Katus, Kloucek, Knudson, McCracken, Nesselhuf, Olson (Ed), Peterson (Jim), Turbak, and Two Bulls and Representatives Hargens, Ahlers, Bradford, Burg, Elliott, Engels, Gassman, Gillespie, Glenski, Halverson, Lucas, Miles, Nygaard, Sigdestad, Street, and Thompson

NOTE: The above bills will be taken up in this order for a hearing on the date noted. If circumstances do not permit a hearing on this date then a hearing will be held at a future meeting of the committee to be determined by the chair. Action on a bill may come at any time after it has had a hearing.